Review: Skulk

Skulk by Rosie Best

Skulk

Publication date:  January 1st 2013

Publisher: Strange Chemistry

Number of pages: 387

Series: Skulk (1#)

Genre: YA Paranormal

Source: Received in exchange for review. This has not influenced my review.

pagebreaksbookcomet

Goodreads synopsis:

When Meg witnesses the dying moments of a shapeshifting fox and is given a beautiful and powerful stone, her life changes forever. She is plunged into the dark world of the Skulk, a group of shapeshifting foxes.

As she learns about the other groups of shapeshifters that lurk around London – the Rabble, the Horde, the Cluster and the Conspiracy – she becomes aware of a deadly threat against all the shapeshifters. They must put aside all their enmity and hostility and fight together to defeat it.

pagebreaksbookcomet

Review:

Okay, I’m not gonna lie: my expectations for this book weren’t exactly extremely high. And before you go off skulking (geddit?!) let me explain.

You see, I’m not terrible keen on shapeshifter/talking animal books. Werewolves aren’t too bad but generally, this is a no-go area for me. But what can I say? I was pleasantly surprised by Skulk. Hoesntly, I wasn’t completely wrapped in the shapeshifter business, but really I thought that the author pulled it off quite well.

I absolutely loved the way that the author had seamlessly incorporated London into this book. I could really vividly picture it and it was actually one of the things I loved most about this book.

I have never come across a main character who does graffiti before. It was really interesting to see it from a different perspective, rather than just the defacing scribble of juvenile delinquents as it tends to be portayed as (or at least where I live). It was really cool to see it talked about as an actual art form with passionate supporters.

Overall I thought that Skulk was entertaining enough. The pacing was reasonable and I really liked the world that the author had created, with all the different stones and species (if that’s what you’d call them). I wasn’t super into the romance, at least not at first. I think that it grew on me after a while. I actually lost interest in the story a bit towards the end as well.

Probably my major issue with this book is the unrealistc reactions the main character had to a certain couple events. I am going to go ahead and describe them because they happen very early on in the book. First off, the main character witnesses someone shapeshift, and then die at the hands of a vicious fog in front of her eyes (keeping in mind she doesn’t actually know shapeshifters are real until that moment) and then her basic reaction is along the lines of ‘yeah, alright’. Really? And then she HERSELF shapeshifts for the first time, and yet again, she barely even reacts.

I think that this book was alright. It’s the kind of book you pick up should the chance present itself.

3/5 comets
The Earth shook. If they thought the Leaning Tower of Pisa was leaning before…

Add Skulk to Goodreads

 

 

Leave a Reply

