The Atrocity of the Real World.

I found about this thing called ‘the real world’ the other day. Apparently other people have been living there for a long time.

whoa animated GIF  (source)

But anyway, I was talking with my friend at lunch and (for some reason) we were talking about this couple and I was happily like, “I ship them.” Then I was really proud because I used “cool speak” and beamed at my friend happily.

happy animated GIF  (source)

But she was staring at me like this:

stare animated GIF  (source)

I got an answer somewhere along the lines of a confused “what?”.

Tragically I can’t remember the conversation, but it probably went little like this:

“You know, shipping.”

“What?”

“SHIPPING.”

“What?”

“Shippingshippingshipping.”

So basically I ended up explaining what ‘shipping’ means. She was amused. Then my other friend came and my friend was like something along the lines of: “Hey! Liv ships something.”

And then I had to explain the whole shipping thing again.

And then I had to explain the whole thing again to yet another unrelated person at the end of the day.

#fangirlproblems

But basically what happened was that I discovered that perhaps the word ‘shipping’ is a fangirl only thing, not “cool speak”. I was pretty crushed. I had been pretty proud.

sad animated GIF  (source)

But deep breaths later I came to the conclusion that I just speak a second language. Fangirl language.

I don’t know if it’s just people around me who don’t know the “flingo” (fangirl lingo. Just came up with that then. COPYRIGHTED. MWAHAHAHAHA) or if normal cool people elsewhere do use these terms as well. Feel free to let me know.

Oh my goodness. People who speak flingo can be “flinguists”. I love my nerdiness. NERD PRIDE.

But I can see this problem arising again with phrases like “OTP”. It’s hard being a flinguist.

 

4 thoughts on “The Atrocity of the Real World.

  1. Nara says:

    “shipping” and “OTP” aren’t even exclusive to bookish things! Your friends must not watch too much Youtube or TV either 😛
    Next time someone asks, just direct them to this vid: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c61d72fpa4c

  2. goldenfurpro says:

    I’m so used to using the word shipping because I see it online all the time! I actually taught by mom what it means and know she occasionally tries using it. She doesn’t always use it correctly, but still, I’m very proud of her.

  3. Haha! i have “fangirl” friends and “non-fangirl” friends. But I have definitely run into the same situation you had many a times.

  4. infinityreads says:

    I feel ya girl! my best friend and I speak a language only we can understand which may as well be flingo aha the struggles

Leave a Reply

