Words that set my teeth on edge

There are just some words that are used that completely set my teeth on edge. Whether they be repeated too much in a book or are just used to describe every other book.

Now it’s very bad when I grind my teeth because I have had orthodontic treatment (read: braces (ya know, for teeth)) and they are very expensive where I am and not an experience I would like to go to waste. Plus not to mention they are insured for $10 000 000.00AUD

Well not the last part.

CULPRIT 1#

Word: Poignant
Definition according to The Free Dictionary: Arousing deep emotion, especially pity or sorrow; touching.

YES free dictionary definition. Touching indeed. It makes me feel like really gross bugs are touching me.

This word just sounds gross to me. I actually shudder when I read it.

want animated GIF  (source)

CULPRIT 2#

Word: Ichor
Definition according to The Free Dictionary: A watery, acrid discharge from a wound or ulcer.

This one isn’t so bad – as in I don’t find it that often.

Unless of course I’m reading a book in The Mortal Instruments or The Infernal Devices series. Seriously. Every time a demon dies. The word ‘ichor’ is used. And a lot of demons were killed. Since I read 10 thick books set in the Shadowhunter world in a row, I was pretty sick of the word by the end.

CULPRIT 3#

Phrase: I released a breath I didn’t release I’d been holding.

I know I’m not the only one in terms of this one. In fact I didn’t even really notice it until I saw a couple of videos on it on YouTube/BookTube and now every time it’s in a book I go slightly more crazy inside.

crazy animated GIF  (source)

CULPRIT 4#

Word: Yum
Definition according to The Free DictionaryUsed to express appreciation of or eagerness for a tasty food or beverage.

ARGGGGGHHHHHH.

I feel better now.

I hate this word even more when it’s not written…but SPOKEN in real life. Ew. Ew. Ew. Ew.

Ew. Ew.

gross animated GIF  (source)

I could NEVER say it with a straight face either.

CULPRIT 5#

Word: Delicious
Definition according to The Free Dictionary Highly pleasing or agreeable to the senses, especially of taste or smell.

Believe it or not, I don’t actually mind this word when it’s used to describe a book. Like for example: “A deliciously dark tale”. I don’t know. That just came into my head. But I do hate it when it’s used to describe food. Ooh, I’m noticing a pattern here.

I think maybe it’s the way the word sounds and mouth movements. So gross.

CULPRIT 6#

Word: Moist
Definition according to The Free Dictionary Slightly wet; damp.

Maybe perhaps the worst of all.

ew animated GIF  (source)

EVERYTHING ABOUT IT IS TERRIBLE. The meaning, the pronounciations, the mouth movements…

It’s like they hired the worst possible mouth movements choreographer to come up with a way to make people

angry animated GIF  (source)

In fact, I’d go as far as to say that it reminds me of Gollum a bit.

 

What words drive you up the wall? Does ‘moist’ make you squirm very uncomfortably as well?

3 thoughts on “Words that set my teeth on edge

  1. infinityreads says:

    Ichor reminds me of Percy Jackson so I have good memories of that word haha! but the phrase about breathing is SO TRUE like oh my God. Also I don’t like the ‘Flesh’ idk just ‘shivers’

  2. Moist may be my most hated word of all time. Everything about it is disgusting. From the way it sounds, to what image it conjured. It is jut freaking gross. I never use that word unless I am telling someone about how much I hate it, or I use it as a joke – usually referring to cake or something. But seriously – a moist cake? EWWWWW, STOP.

    Also, the breath holding thing. Please slap me if I ever write it in a novel. It is taboo for me. It should be taboo for EVERYONE. I have never held a breath without noticing I was holding a breath. And besides, who even holds a breath in response to things. That’s like gasping, and then not breathing again after that. A little melodramatic, if you ask me.

  3. Lol, I have to agree with you on the usage of some of these words. “Moist” shouldn’t be used at all, if rarely. It just sounds weird.

Leave a Reply

