A Very Frightening Bookish Thought

Close your eyes…take a deep breath in….and breathe out. Take another deep breath in, hold, and breathe out. Now, imagine this terrifying scenario:

It is 3:00am in the morning, the most evilest of times. Usually you in the land of the cannot-possibly-be-woken but tonight, your eyes are cracked open.

EditingAndLayout animated GIF  (source)

Uncle-fester (source)

Why? Because you are reading one of the best books of your life.

Little-women-laurie (source)

Your body lies exhausted after that time you spent hyperventilating when your favourite character NEARLY DIED (don’t even try to deny it), and let’s face it, you are in no emotional condition to keep reading, but you do. You turn the final page and CLIFFHANGER.

 (source)

You know how you thought you were emotionally scarred before? Now  you’re emotionally scarred. You flip a couple more pages until you come to the sneak peek of the next book. The cliffhanger is eating you up (I’ve heard they get hungry) and the emotional torment becomes just too much for you. You reach to turn the page…

Or do you?

suspicious animated GIF  (source)

And that brings us to what the post is really about:

Do you read the sneak peeks at the end of books?

I personally…don’t. Especially if the book before had had at least some minor sort of cliffhanger. What would be the point in reading ahead? Either you’d torture yourself even more, or you might even end up feeling deflated. Plus that would 100% defeat the point of having the cliffhanger in the first place.

The other thing is that I feel like if I read the sneak peek and then went about the sequel (whether it had already been released, or was about to be), I don’t think I’d really want to reread what I already had. Sure you could jump to where the sample had cut off, but this is me so the clever route isn’t taken. Plus you may have forgotten a minor detail that occurred in the preview.

It wouldn’t be a problem if the book wasn’t going to be released for ages. Because if other readers are anything like me then they would have completely forgotten what they had read in the sample anyway.

But of course sneak peeks could be a really good thing – they can get you really excited for the next book. They also can leave you with more questions to do with what’s going to happen, or IT could even end on a cliffhanger. So many possibilities.

Do you read the sneak peeks for books coming out? Or like me do you fend them of with a red-hot pitchfork? 

10 thoughts on “A Very Frightening Bookish Thought

  1. infinityreads says:

    Yeah I don’t read the sneak peek either mainly to save myself the trouble of re-reading it in the actual copy ahah!

  2. Melanie (YA Midnight Reads) says:

    Hahaha xD
    Hmm, I used to peek at the ending of a book all the time but i don’t really do it much these days unless the book is a real bore and I need to know if it’s worth continuing.

    • Livvvy75 says:

      MEL!!!!! HOW COULD YOU?! I must say I’ve never done that 🙂 But I do understand why you do – in fact it’s not such a bad idea if it’s a boring book…I think you’ve just turned me into a rebel.

  3. I usually read the sneak peek at the end of the chapter of it’s from a book that’s not in the same series, to help me decide if I want to read the book featured, but otherwise, I’m usually pretty good about not reading the sneak peek.

    • Livvvy75 says:

      Oh yeah, I didn’t think about that! That’s a really good point actually 🙂 I don’t really come across unrelated book snippets that often though – but I wish I did. Now THEY could be helpful!

  4. goldenfurpro says:

    I never really get the chance honestly. All the books I usually read are new releases, so there’s so sneak peak at the book of the book. I think I did do this once and it wasn’t a problem for me. The book ended in a cliffhanger, so I read the sneak peak, which told me what happened. I ended up not being able to pick up that book because my library didn’t have it until a few years later. By then I was fine rereading, I even had to reread the first book to refresh my memory. I wish I could say that I would be able to resist sneak peaks, but if the book ended in a cliffhanger and there’s a sneak peak for the sequel, then I am going to jump in. But that only happens if it is in the book and right after reading that book. If an excerpt gets unleashed online months later, I will not read it. I hate excerpts for precisely the reason you said. But I get really desperate right after reading that cliffhanger.
    That’s the only time I will ever read any kind of sneak peak.

    • Livvvy75 says:

      Oh yay that’s awesome! I was hoping some one who does read sneak peeks would comment 😉 Ah yes, that’s the other thing – time! Completely forgot about that. I guess if you read a sneak peek after a cliffhanger it at least means that you are invested enough in the book 😉

  5. Nara says:

    I definitely don’t either! Sneak peeks are just the worst! I’d rather just read the whole book as it’s supposed to be read rather than read a bit of the book and then have to wait AAAGGGESS before reading the rest!

Leave a Reply

