Counting the Stars 79#

counting the stars

Counting the Stars is a weekly meme hosted here at Bookcomet! This meme allows you to display what books you have gained in the last week! Feel free to join.

It’s been a while since I’ve done this, but I’m probably just going to do the last week or two. Or just relatively recently.

The rules:

•Post a sticker – whether it be mine or your own (provided it has Counting the Stars on it).
•Either a) leave a link to your post in the comments below or b) tell me your answers in the comments – either is fine!

I am considering making this maybe a monthly feature rather than weekly. I haven’t done this since BEFORE Christmas, so I’ll be showing what I got and some other recent purchases.

Christmas haul:

20150118-100745.jpg

  • The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan and Maureen Johnson
  • Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld

I’m really excited for both of these! My shadow hunter collection is almost complete except for that I don’t have The Shadow Hunter Codex (or whatever it’s called). And of course I’ll get Lady Midnight when it’s released!

As for Afterworlds, I’ve been wanting to read it for a while now. I almost bought it in England but I was literally one pound short. I think it sounds really interesting and unique, but I haven’t really seen that many reviews and the ones I have seen have been mediocre.

Scholastic:

As part of a Scholastic sale, I picked up these two super cheap! AND ONE OF THEM IS HARDCOVER! Unbelievably, they both amounted to less than $10 in total as well, shipping included. Not bad, eh?

20150118-104820.jpg

Sorry about the glare 🙂

  • Unhinged by A. G. Howard
  • The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

That sale was actually a while ago, but the books didn’t come until after my last Counting the Stars post.

Received more recently:

A few days ago another order arrived!

20150118-110008.jpg 20150118-105828.jpg

  • Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins
  • Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins
  • All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
  • Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang

I needed Lola and Isla in my life because I absolutely adored Anna and the French Kiss also by Stephanie Perkins. The three books look absolutely gorgeous together. And when I saw them quite cheaply on The Book Depository, I knew I that I had to have them.

All the Bright Places and Falling Into Place look amazing. I have heard so much hype about both (particularly All the Bright Places, which was just released) and think they both sound amazing.

For review:

  • I Was Here by Gayle Forman (see my review here)I Was Here
  • The Winner’s Crime by Marie RutkoskiThe Winner's Crime (The Winner's Trilogy, #2)

Read:

I have no idea what I read in December, but here’s what I’ve read so far in January:

  • I Was Here by Gayle FormanI Was Here
  • City of Bones by Cassandra ClareCity of Bones (The Mortal Instruments, #1)
  • City of Ashes by Cassandra ClareCity of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments, #2)
  • City of Glass by Cassandra ClareCity of Glass (The Mortal Instruments, #3)
  • Clockwork Angel by Cassandra ClareClockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices, #1)
  • City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra ClareCity of Fallen Angels (The Mortal Instruments, #4)
  • Clockwork Prince by Cassandra ClareClockwork Prince (The Infernal Devices, #2)

All of those except I Was Here are rereads. Unfortunately it’s been two years since I read The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices series so I had forgotten a great deal about what had happened. I want to reread both series in preparation for reading City of Heavenly Fire and The Bane Chronicles.

Currently reading:

  • The Winner’s Crime by Marie RutkoskiThe Winner's Crime (The Winner's Trilogy, #2)
  • City of Lost Souls by Cassandra ClareCity of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments, #5)
7 thoughts on “Counting the Stars 79#

  1. Faye M. says:

    Wheee, book sales! They’re super awesome. I wish there were more of them around because books aren’t that cheap anymore 😦 I seriously need to shell out tons of money just to get a book or two. They’ve become a luxury, really 😦 Can’t wait to see what you think of Winner’s Crime!

    Faye at The Social Potato

    • Livvvy75 says:

      Yay thank you! I absolutely loved The Winner’s Crime! Have you read The Winner’s Curse? I have no idea what books are like where you are but I know our main bookshop in Aus is quite costly and they are getting more and more expensive online 😦

  2. rlsharpe says:

    You’ve gotten some great books. I’d love to read Afterworlds, but I’m currently on a book buying ban so I’m not sure when I’ll get to it. I got some great books from the Scholastic sale too. The Scorpio Races is really good. I really want to read The Winner’s Crime, but I’ve got to read The Winner’s Curse first. I do have that on my shelf so I’ll be able to get to it soon.
    Great post, thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Livvvy75 says:

      Ah, the book buying ban. I hope you last longer than I ever do on one. Ooh I’m glad you liked The Scorpio Races – I heard of it a lot but never seen many reviews. Both books in The Winner’s Trilogy are brilliant (the second one more so in my opinion)!

      • rlsharpe says:

        *ducks head* I have caved already. I was at big w today and they had some books on clearance that I’ve wanted for a while. At $5 each I couldn’t resist.

      • Livvvy75 says:

        Haha it’s ok. Surely $5 each doesn’t count…much…ok technically you broke the ban. But well done for keeping it up for as long as you did 🙂 I was only at Big W today and saw that clearance – what did you get? There wasn’t much of a selection at my store though 😦

      • rlsharpe says:

        I got Indelible by Dawn Metcalf, The Girl With the Iron Touch by Kady Cross and The first book in the Ranger’s Apprentice series by John Flanagan, which was only $2. There wasn’t much more of a selection than that, which I’m thankful for or I would have come home with even more!

Leave a Reply

