Time to Party!

There are two reasons why this post is titled ‘Time to Party’.

1. SCHOOL’S OUT! SCHOOL’S OUT! CHRISTMAS! SCHOOL’S OUT FOR CHRISTMAS AND SUMMMMMER!

and the second of which being the main cause of this post:

2. Cait from Notebook Sisters has moved to WordPress and now dominates the world known as Paper Fury. I strongly recommend you check out her blog. Here’s a link.

To celebrate, Cait is hosting a party! There’s a giveaway (and it’s international, meaning you can enter as well…) and part of the celebration is to join in this tag she has created. Here goes…

If you would like a direct link to the page where she talks specifically about this, here you go.

1. Why did you start blogging?

I started blogging because I was practically addicted to reviewing. On Goodreads. Not much has changed, I always post my review on Goodreads but I’m realllly slow at uploading them here. But anyway, when I discovered the world of  book blogging, I knew I had to get in on it. I discovered this world held more opportunities and I loved how I could personalise it more than I could, say, Goodreads.

2. What’s the story behind your blog’s name?

Prepare for your mind to be blown: I was thinking about books and, get this, space. Then all of a sudden there was this big bang (HAHAHAHAH GEDDIT?!) and somehow the words ‘book’ and ‘comet’ fused together to become, ‘Bookcomet’. Not Book Comet, but just Bookcomet. Understandably that mistake is frequently made. I thought it was pretty catchy, and then magically the slogan just came to me: ‘book reviews that are out of this world’. Obviously it was meant to be.

Dreamy Glee animated GIF(source)

3. How may blogging designs have you been through since you started blogging?

I think maybe three? I don’t actually have pictures (or at least, that I know of) but I can tell you now, blog design ain’t ma speciality. OH MY GOSH I JUST ATE CHIRSTMAS TREE WHAT EVEN. That wasn’t a joke. Oops. But I guess I could describe them?

My first design had a book that was flying on a flame, pretending to be, wait for it, a comet. It was awful. You can still probably witness the badly drawn comet if you look at my GFC profile picture (I can’t even get on to the website to try and get the picture – sorry) . I’m pretty sure there were stars in the background too.

As for the second design, well that was just boring. I changed my theme to the one I have now, but the background was just dark blue with badly computer-drawn stars. Early on this year, as in very early on, January kind of early, it evolved into this one. Better, I like to think, but not as good as I want it to be.

Leonardo Dicaprio Revolutionary Road animated GIF(source)

4. Have you ever switched blog-platforms? Why/why not?

Honestly, I’m just very content with WordPress. I have no desire to change, I’ve never needed to and I don’t see myself doing so in future. WordPress is da bomb.

5. How long does it take you to write a post? What’s your postly process like?

Well, it really depends on the post. I always write review posts on Goodreads first, so I just copy them across to my blog. Then I just have to locate the synopsis, author bio, cover picture and publication details and that is it. It probably takes me around half an hour.

As for discussions and posts like this – it usually takes me between 1 -2 hours. I’m not actually a slow typer so I don’t really know what goes so wrong. It’s probably because I’m thinking of what to say as I go and I’m very careful about what I write online.

6. Have you ever been super nervous about a post? Why?! What was it?

Like Cait, I hate posting one/two star reviews. I feel upset at the idea of the author seeing it. But it has to be done because I don’t want my blog to just be three/four/five star reviews and if it is a review copy, I’m always going to post the review. If I put my time and effort into reading it to make a review, then I’m going to post it.

I don’t really post anything controversial online, so I don’t get nervous in that sense.

7. Do you have a blogging schedule?

I have a very loose blogging schedule. I’ve been really bad at blogging recently (see: school) but when I do I usually post along the lines of:

Monday – Review

Tuesday – Anything, I used to do news though. Not sure whether to bring that back. This may also be the day where I write my own stuff.

Wednesday – Review

Thursday – Trendy Thursday, or anything.

Friday – Review

Saturday – Anything.

Sunday- Counting the Stars/ weekly wrap-up

8. Do you tell people In-Real-Life about your blog? Their reactions?

What is this thing called ‘real life’?

I’ve told two friends: one promptly forgot (pretty sure) and the other hasn’t breathed a word. I can never let anyone at my school know I do anything on the internet or else they will find some way to use it against me. I’ve seen it happen.

I have told a few family members. A few of them were impressed because my family struggles generally with technology but my parents were just kind of like, ‘yeah, cool’. How many times have I had to use quotation marks this post?!

9. Top ten blogs you read/comment on the most! Go! Go!

I wish I could comment on more blogs, but I really have struggled with time constraints recently. I hope to change that starting from tomorrow when I am freeeeeeee. But, probably unknown to these bloggers, I read a lot of these blogs:

1. Paper Fury

2. Books and Window Seats

3. Happy Indulgence

4. Jen’s Pen Den

5. Diary of a Loony Teen Writer

6. Books for a Delicate Eternity

7. Looking for the Panacea

8. Books and Iced Coffee

9. Life of a Female Bibliophile

10. Stephanie’s Book Reviews

11. Inside My Worlds

Yes I know, 11. And there are SO many more. I love them all equally (including the ones that aren’t on the list), I just simply named the first 10 that came to me.

10. If you could change/improve things about your blog, what would they be?

Easy. The rate at which I post. Not the best. I really, really hope to change that soon though.

And my blog design. I’m still not keen.

 

So thank you so much to Cait for not only hosting this, but also a giveaway! Her new blog looks great!

Applause Beyonce animated GIF(source)

4 thoughts on “Time to Party!

  1. Caitlin says:

    Oh my gosh I’m hyperventilating! I feel both extremely honoured and surprised to appear on your list. It still startles me to think that people actually read what I write…
    And I get what you mean with posting. Lots of bloggers are like: yeah, I write reviews in half an hour. It takes me an hour 😛 But then it takes me a little less time to write discussion posts and stuff so it evens it out I guess. So yeah, that’s definitely something I want to improve on too.

    • Livvvy75 says:

      I love your blog! Really! I ALWAYS click on the email when you post – not even just saying that 🙂 Haha that post took me forever – I’m so easily distracted. I started writing it at 4:00 and I only really just finished it.

  2. Aww… I am so touched to see that I’m on your list of blogs you read! I’m really glad you enjoy my post and I always look forward to reading your new posts! 🙂 I totally understand the trouble with giving a book a bad rating. I feel bad too but I also know I need to be honest with myself and other readers who might have the intention of reading the book.

    • Livvvy75 says:

      Aw shucks, thank you 🙂 Yeah sometimes I really have to remind myself that if we only posted good reviews, every book would only have 4/5 star reviews. It would kind of defeat the point of reviewing…

Leave a Reply

