Review: These Broken Stars

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

These Broken Stars (Starbound, #1)

Publication date: November 20th 2013

Publisher: Disney Hyperion

Number of pages: 374

Series: Starbound (1#)

Genre: YA science-fiction

Source: Purchased. This is my honest opinion.

pagebreaksbookcomet

Goodreads synopsis:

It’s a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone.

Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help.

Then, against all odds, Lilac and Tarver find a strange blessing in the tragedy that has thrown them into each other’s arms. Without the hope of a future together in their own world, they begin to wonder—would they be better off staying here forever?

Everything changes when they uncover the truth behind the chilling whispers that haunt their every step. Lilac and Tarver may find a way off this planet. But they won’t be the same people who landed on it.

A timeless love story, These Broken Stars sets into motion a sweeping science fiction series of companion novels. The Starbound Trilogy: Three worlds. Three love stories. One enemy.

pagebreaksbookcomet

Review:

Yes I’m going to put it out there. I’m not about to gush over this book like pretty much every review I’ve seen does. It wasn’t abolutely awful, but really, it was boring.

That’s really why I thought that this book as such a let down. It had the potential to be so amazing – have you read the premise? The idea seems great, and paired with my desire to read a sci-fi book, I was so excited to get stuck into it. And not to mention all the amazing reviews I’d read as well. Even people who said they weren’t really in to sci-fi gushed over this book. But unfortunately, in my opinion the book decided to take the boring route.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m really into character-driven stories – a lot of my favourite books are character driven. But I really disliked Lilac. Tarver was ok but that’s about it. I guess I enjoyed reading his point of view the best. So what happens when you put boring, stereotypical characters together? A boring, stereotypical romance. In other words, I disliked the relatonship between Tarver and Lilac.

But there’s a light coming. I actually thought it got pretty good around the time of the major plot twist. Then it came crashing down with a weird, strange, convenient, paranormal solution.

While the ending did bring up questions that I would like answered, I’m still not driven enough to read a sequel. Apparently this is a companion series – I’m guessing Lilac and Tarver would still be featured or mentioned at some point? Their story isn’t really done.

Before I conclude this review, there are two more things that I liked: the cover and the writing. The cover is really pretty and probably something that would attract a lot of readers. The writing is also really pretty and could have done amazing things for the book. Come to think of it, it’s super cool that the two co-authors could manage that, not only did they write together, but from opposite sides of the world.

I’m going to have to rate These Broken Stars a grand total of 2.5 comets. I feel let down and it really did bore me. I ay reread this n the future because one thing that probably affected my thoughts on this book was how tired I was when I read it. Seriously. I had been awake for a heck of a long time a couldn’t even concentrate on it properly (I was on an aeroplane).

2.5/5
Minor ident. Could have been a bigger hit.

Add to Goodreads

pagebreaksbookcomet

Goodreads author bios:

Amie Kaufman

Amie KaufmanAmie Kaufman is the co-author of These Broken Stars, the first in the Starbound trilogy, and Illuminae, the first in a new series starting in 2015. She writes science fiction and fantasy for teens, and her favourite procrastination techniques involve chocolate, baking, sailing, excellent books and TV, plotting and executing overseas travel, and napping.

She lives in Melbourne, Australia with her husband, their rescue dog, and her considerable library. She is represented by Tracey Adams of Adams Literary. 

 

Meagan Spooner

Meagan SpoonerMeagan Spooner grew up reading and writing every spare moment of the day, while dreaming about life as an archaeologist, a marine biologist, an astronaut. She graduated from Hamilton College in New York with a degree in playwriting, and has spent several years since then living in Australia. She’s traveled with her family all over the world to places like Egypt, South Africa, the Arctic, Greece, Antarctica, and the Galapagos, and there’s a bit of every trip in every story she writes.

She currently lives and writes in Asheville, North Carolina, but the siren call of travel is hard to resist, and there’s no telling how long she’ll stay there.

In her spare time she plays guitar, plays video games, plays with her cat, and reads.

2 thoughts on “Review: These Broken Stars

  1. I didn’t quite understand all the hype around this book, either. It was ok, but far from being a favorite. I do love that cover, though!

Leave a Reply

