Review: Prodigy

Prodigy by Marie Lu

Prodigy (Legend, #2)

Publication date: January 29th 2013

Publisher: Putnam Juvenile

Number of pages: 371

Series: Legend (2#)

Genre: YA Dystopian

Source: Gifted. This is my honest opinion.

pagebreaksbookcomet

Goodreads synopsis:

Injured and on the run, it has been seven days since June and Day barely escaped Los Angeles and the Republic with their lives. Day is believed dead having lost his own brother to an execution squad who thought they were assassinating him. June is now the Republic’s most wanted traitor. Desperate for help, they turn to the Patriots – a vigilante rebel group sworn to bring down the Republic. But can they trust them or have they unwittingly become pawns in the most terrifying of political games?

pagebreaksbookcomet

Review:

Prodigy is, well, a prodigy.

You have this epic dystopian world with fantastic characters and ACTION! This is totally a YA series for both boys and girls.

June is my favourite character. As much as I like Day, I relate more to June and it was in her point of view when I really got into the story. Speaking of getting into the story, it took a while for me to get sucked in. And this version of sucked in is modified to the Legend series definition of sucked in. I was sucked in from the very beginning in terms of normal books but by Legend series standards, I mean can’t stop reading sort of thing. Like in the story, eyes glued to the page, kind of sucked in. And even then it didn’t take long.

This is fast becoming one of my favourite series. To be honest, I expected Prodigy or maybe Champion to be my favourite book in the series because of reviews by other bloggers I’ve seen but I’m pretty sure Legend will always be my favourite.

The twists! The twists! Seriously, the plot kept changing directions and then all of a sudden something life-changing (for me as well, not just the characters!) would happen. I was actually talking to Day on June’s behalf at one frustrating point. Yeah, I know, I’m crazy.

If you read and loved Legend almost as much as I did and still haven’t read Prodigy, then I really don’t know your reasoning. Do it…do it…

4.5/5
KABOOM! That only leves one coninent. One little flaw.

Add to Goodreads

pagebreaksbookcomet

Goodreads author bio:

Marie LuI write young adult novels, and have a special love for dystopian books. Ironically, I was born in 1984. Before becoming a full-time writer, I was an Art Director at a video game company. Now I shuffle around at home and talk to myself a lot. 🙂

I graduated from the University of Southern California in ’06 and currently live in LA, where I spend my time stuck on the freeways.

 

One thought on “Review: Prodigy

  1. I don’t know my reasoning either. Hahaha! I really loved Legend and I have a lot catching up to do. Marie Lu’s coming to the Philippines so I just might buy all her books and meet her. Well, I hope so anyway. But I’m broke at the moment so I can’t get a copy yet. 😛 I’m glad Marie Lu does not disappoint.

Leave a Reply

