Review: Don’t Call Me Baby

Don’t Call Me Baby by Gwendolyn Heasley

Don't Call Me Baby

Publication date: April 22nd 2014

Publisher: HarperTeen

Number of pages: 304

Series: N/A

Genre: YA Contemporary

Source: Borrowed. This is my honest opinion.

pagebreaksbookcomet

Goodreads synopsis:

All her life, Imogene has been known as the girl on THAT blog.

Imogene’s mother has been writing an incredibly embarrassing, and incredibly popular, blog about her since before she was born. Hundreds of thousands of perfect strangers knew when Imogene had her first period. Imogene’s crush saw her “before and after” orthodontia photos. But Imogene is fifteen now, and her mother is still blogging about her, in gruesome detail, against her will.

When a mandatory school project compels Imogene to start her own blog, Imogene is reluctant to expose even more of her life online…until she realizes that the project is the opportunity she’s been waiting for to tell the truth about her life under the virtual microscope and to define herself for the first time.

Don’t Call Me Baby is a sharply observed and irrepressibly charming story about mothers and daughters, best friends and first crushes, and the surface-level identities we show the world online and the truth you can see only in real life.

pagebreaksbookcomet

Review:

I found a copy of this book when I was scouring the new arrivals section of my library like the excitable booknerd that I am. My library’s YA section is quite small, so the new arrivals section is even smaller, meaning that books there jump out at me a lot more. I actually picked this up because I recognised the cover and I knew I just HAD to read this when I read the blurb. Being a blogger myself, I’m totally into books that feature bloggy characters.

Overall I’d say I’d deem this book as ok, but maybe a little better than that. Afterall, I did enjoy it. The ending was a huge rating lifter because it was so cute. Like puppy kind of cute. I’m beyond satisfied with the ending, just what I want when I am looking for a fluffier contemporary.

What I found to be the major downside to Don’t Call Me Baby was the main character Imogene and her best friend Sage. Wow. They were the most irritating, whiny, teenagers ever. Their ways of dealing with their mums’ blogs were nasty and stupid. Sure their mums’ blogs were embarrassing, but seriously? If a couple of their plans went through then they would have damaged their mother-daughter relationship forever and caused so much trouble. The only character who had any sense was her grandmother.

I did like that the way the book was formatted. You had normal story text, as well as blog posts from Imogene, Sage and Imogene’s mum. I really liked reading Imogene’s mum’s (or should I say Mommylicious’s) blog posts because they were kind of cute. And I loved the way that Imogene’s mum got as excited for BlogHer as we would for an event like BEA or another book convention.

All in all, while I enjoyed Don’t Call Me Baby, I probably wouldn’t recommend it. It’s not really a standout.

3/5 comets
The Earth shook. If they thought the Leaning Tower of Pisa was leaning before…

Add to Goodreads

pagebreaksbookcomet

Author bio:

Gwendolyn Heasley is a graduate of Davidson College and the University of Missouri-Columbia where she earned her master’s degree in journalism. When she was a little girl, she desperately wanted to be the next Ann M. Martin- the author of the beloved The Baby-Sitter’s Club series. She’s incredibly grateful that the recession rendered her unemployed and made her chase her nearly forgotten dream. Her third novel Don’t Call Me Baby comes out in April and her digital e-novella The Art of Goodbye (the sequel to Where I Belong) comes out in March.

She loves hearing from readers. Please email her at gwendolyn.heasley@gmail.com

She now lives in Florida with her husband and baby girl.

Leave a Reply

