Review: Branded

Branded by Abi Ketner and Missy Kalicicki

Branded (Sinners, #1)

Publication date: June 27th 2013

Publisher: Self-published

Number of pages: 384

Series: Sinner (1#)

Genre: YA Dystopian

Source: Received in exchange for review. This is my honest opinion.

pagebreaksbookcomet

Goodreads synopsis:

Fifty years ago The Commander came into power and murdered all who opposed him. In his warped mind, the seven deadly sins were the downfall of society.

To punish the guilty, he created the Hole, a place where sinners are branded according to their sins. Sinners are forced to live a less than human existence in deplorable conditions, under the watchful eye of guards who are ready to kill anyone who steps out of line.

Now, LUST wraps around my neck like thick, blue fingers, threatening to choke the life out of me. I’ve been accused of a crime I didn’t commit, and the Hole is my new home.

Constant darkness.

Brutal and savage violence.

Excruciating pain.

Every day is a fight for survival.

But I won’t let them win. I will not die in the Hole.

I am more than my brand. I’m a fighter. My name is Lexi Hamilton, and this is my story.

pagebreaksbookcomet

Review:

Pride is a sin but the authors should definitely be proud of this book.

First off, the story. The story! I have read many (MANY) dystopian books but never one about the seven deadly sins! Seriously, how awesome is that?

…And the authors didn’t hang around either. Nope. Straight into the action. Put it this way, I would not recommend Branded as a light dystopian.

It wasn’t just because of the action that I can’t say Branded is a light dystopian. Some of the things my poor little eyes had to read were quite…graphic. Not THAT graphic but still pretty graphic. And I liked that, it’s so great that stuff like that wasn’t toned down just because it is YA.

I really liked the characters, but I loved the romance. Cole was very swoonworthy and yeah, I just loved it.

I was happily just reading along and then BAM something happened. I was just like “oh, ok, right, well, glad I’m not you Lexi”. I really didn’t see it coming.

Enough with the good stuff. I unfortunately have to talk about the not-so-good stuff.

I got SO sick of Lexi vomiting. She just kept vomiting. I get that vomiting is a natural reaction to many situations in dystopian books but seriously. There comes a point when enough is enough.

And the other thing that annoyed me that was constantly repeated throughout the story, was being told how “pretty” Lexi was. She wasn’t particularly modest either.

I’m pretty sure it was kind of reverse character growth (in a way) as well. I’m pretty sure that the character is meant to get stronger. And I definitely got to the point where I was ready for the book to be over. Just a little bit shorter would have been nice.

So now that’s out of the way, I just have to say that I am looking forward to a sequel. Even when I rate books four stars, I’m not necessarily bursting out of my skin to read a sequel. But I would definitely pick up a sequel to Branded. I wouldn’t be shocked if this got picked up by a publisher.

4/5 comets
A meteor shower. A great show.

Add to Goodreads

pagebreaksbookcomet

Author bios:

Abi Ketner –

Abi KetnerAbi Ketner Is a registered nurse with a passion for novels, the beaches of St. John, and her Philadelphia Phillies. A talented singer, Abi loves to go running and spend lots of time with her family. She currently resides in Lancaster, Pennsylvania with her husband, triplet daughters and two very spoiled dogs.

 Missy Kalicicki –
 
Missy KalicickiMelissa Kalicicki received her bachelor’s degree from Millersville University in 2003. She married, had two boys and currently lives in Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Aside from reading and writing, her interests include running and mixed martial arts. She also remains an avid Cleveland sports fan.

Twitter @abiandmissy.com

2 thoughts on “Review: Branded

  1. Jeanz says:

    I have read this book and have to say I loved it from beginning to end!
    I’m waiting (im)patiently for the next installment !

Leave a Reply

