Review: ARV-3

ARV-3 by Cameo Renae

ARV-3 (The After Light Saga, #1)

Publication date: November 24th 2013

Publisher: Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly Publishing

Number of pages: 370

Series: The Afterlight Saga(1#)

Genre: YA Dystopian

Source: Received in exchange for review. This is my honest opinion.

pagebreaksbookcomet

Goodreads synopsis:

The beginning of the end. The Apocalypse.

A nuclear fallout wiped out every living thing on the planet, except for a few thousand of us who took shelter in underground bunkers across the globe. Now, after thirteen long years, we were finally able to return to the topside to begin to rebuild.

We thought we were alone. We were never more wrong.

Before the fallout, scientists had worked on creating an anti-radiation vaccine (ARV). The first two attempts failed, but despite the incomplete tests and results, the government approved and distributed the third serum to the masses in an effort to aid those who had no shelter.

It worked, keeping those who remained on the topside alive, but it also altered and mutated them. This new and infectious threat had completely outnumbered us. Now, we not only had to rebuild our planet. We would have to fight for it.

My name is Abigail Park. I’m seventeen, and this is my story.

pagebreaksbookcomet

Review:

I am in love with this book right now. This is how I felt about Cameo Renae’s other book, Hidden Wings, too. If all this author’s books are going to be like this, could they please come with a warning label?

First off, can I just say that nowadays it’s getting harder and harder for me to find a dystopian read that I thoroughly enjoy. I mean, it seems like everything has been done before to the avid dystopian reader. But ARV-3 was exactly what I love about dystopian books. Sure it wasn’t a particularly unique concept but it was addictive, action-packed and a little scary.

I’m one of those people who were fascinated by the idea of the world ending in 2012. I didn’t believe it, but for some reason the idea of it fascinated me. So when one of the first lines of the book I read was about that I kind of mentally fangirled. That was the moment I knew I would love this book *eyes glaze over dreamily*. And on the topic of awesome first sentences, let’s just say that prologue was pretty epic too.

I know what you’re saying: “Whoa, whoa hold up a second. If you love this book so much, how come you’re only giving it 3.5/5 comets. Something just doesn’t add up!”. Am I right? It’s because as a reviewer, I can not ignore flaws in a book, no matter how much I enjoy it. I picked up a few of what I’d call grammatical errors and found a couple of “holes” if you will. I will not specify the “holes” because I do not wish to spoil the plot for any of you willing to read it.

I love the world that this is set in! It’s actually pretty scary. And those rabid Arvies were known to send a few chills down my spine. It wouldn’t be complete without the main character Abi, though. She was pretty cool.

When we speak of Abi, we have to speak of Finn. Finn was great and as much as I loved both of those characters, I thought that their relationship was a bit, well, too much. It progressed really quickly. And I mean realllly quickly. Too fast. Plus it was way too cotton-candy perfect (minus the situation though).

You have to realise that I think ARV-3 is pretty fantastic when I wake up early on a weekend to read it. A weekend! I was really into the story and I got up, read it, and then went back to bed. I don’t do things like that. Usually.

Anyhoo, I would definitely recommend this book to readers of the dystopian genre. Honestly, it’s pretty good. Go on, read it.

3.5/5 comets
Looks like the start of an apocalypse! Nearly there!

Add to Goodreads

pagebreaksbookcomet

Author bio:

Cameo RenaeMy family is what keeps my heart beating, and my world a happy place to be.

I was born in San Francisco, raised in Maui, Hawaii, and recently moved with my husband and children to Alaska.
I’m a daydreamer, a caffeine and peppermint addict. I love to laugh, love to read, and love to escape reality. One of my greatest joys is creating fantasy worlds filled with adventure and romance, and sharing it with others.
One day I hope to find my own magic wardrobe, and ride away on a magical unicorn. Until then…I’ll keep writing!

Favorite quote: “The true sign of intelligence is not knowledge, but imagination.” Albert Einstein

 

Leave a Reply

