Pre-empting the Slump

Get ready for some gloating.

I, Olivia of Bookcomet, am proud to announce that I am officially a reading slump pre-empterer (yes that’s what you call it).

A dancing Ood from David Tennant's farewell video featuring the cast of Doctor Who

I have been in enough reading slumps (trust me, one reading slump is too many) before and I’m finally starting to recognise that feeling I get as the slump is loooooming. No, I’m not psychic (or am I?) but rather just experienced.

cheers animated GIF

That or I finally got smart enough to not read because I have to. Reading ain’t no chore. Even if it may feel like it sometimes (I’m talking to you TBR pile of great proportions.

So this is where the smart (possibly according to them) among us turn to me and say “Wait a minute.  How do you know you were going to go into a reading slump if you can’t see the future?”

smug animated GIF

That is so your facial expression.

And to which I say:

But nicely. Probably with a cheery smile and a twinkle in my eye. Nah probs not.

No, but you ARE right. I don’t know if I ever would have reached the slump. And we never will…unless of course you can time-travel (Doctor Who, if you’re reading this, TAKE ME WITH YOU!) and you throw a book (gently) at me that I really wanted at the time. Shouldn’t be too hard. There’s always a book I want *sigh*.

Genuinely, I think it has worked. I knew I was heading towards a slump because I was not really motivated at all to read (a rarity in Oliviaworld) and  I wasn’t all that excited about my TBR.

image

So, I was like “nope”. I’ve never really just stopped reading before because I’m, well, always reading.

I can only think of one appropriate way to sum this up: “Hello, my name is Olivia *it’s time for you all to chorus ‘Hi, Olivia’* and I haven’t read for approximately 2 days. But I’m doing good and coping real well *now, you clap*. Thanks.”

And it has worked a treat because now I’m really excited about getting back to reading. Two days not reading is a really big thing for me. I always have a book on the go, even if I’m bogged down in studying and it’s only for five minutes. But I’m really excited and have this little reading planner thing going on that I think will help me cut through some of my reading load.

My advice to you is that if you get an inkling that a reading slump is approaching and your books are being naughty and not calling to you, then perhaps the best thing for you to do is give it time. Soon enough I’m sure a book will grab your attention. Wise words, eh?

image

…Not really. But it has helped me and I hope it helps you!

Are you a reading slump pre-empterer? Or do you just keep pushing through and hoping it never comes? Or, do you not suffer from reading slumps (um…)?

 

 

 

*I do not claim ownership of any of the gifs used in this post.

7 thoughts on “Pre-empting the Slump

  1. rlsharpe says:

    I don’t really get into reading slumps. I like to read what I feel like reading at the time which helps. Looking at my massive TBR list makes me depressed because there are so many books on it and I wish I could read them faster, but it also motivates me to read because I want to put a dint in it. In order to try and cut it down, I’ve recently made a reading planner as well, and now I have my reading planned until October, making sure I read the books I’ve been dying to read as well as my ARCs. Hopefully I don’t get into any reading slumps in the future.

    Great advice, thanks for sharing.

  2. goldenfurpro says:

    I’m really weird in that I don’t have reading slumps so much that I stop reading. There are times that I keep running into books that are not-so-great but I still pick up books. I admit, I sometimes don’t feel like reading, but that only lasts a few hours. I just get bored if I’m not currently reading a book, so I always have one that I’m reading.
    Anyway, I oddly think I need reading slumps? That sounds ridiculous, but sometimes I might need a break from reading, since I never seem to stop.

    • Livvvy75 says:

      *splutters* no reading slumps…? Please pardon me while I stop wheezing. Yeah I get what you mean though. I need to read to prevent boredness but unfortunately I just have to put up with it because no matter the book, I just don’t enjoy it if I’m in a slump. Haha no it actually doesn’t sound ridiculous.

  3. […] Olivia announces that she’s a reading slump pre-empterer. […]

  4. I think it is best to take a break when you feel it coming or when it has happened already. I know reading is important to book bloggers because that’s the main content in our blogs, but blogging isn’t our jobs. We aren’t required to read nor post all the time. And it does get tiring. Sometimes we tend to overdo it. It’s certainly good to take a break from all that, whether it be two days or more. It won’t be the end of the world. And in the words of John Green, books are the ultimate dumpees. You can leave them, but you can also go back to them anytime you want and they’ll still love you.

    • Livvvy75 says:

      That was possibly one of the most awesome at responses I ever gotten. And not just because you quoted John Green. That is SO true. My book blog is what pressures me to keep reading and when I take a break I always feel guilty, but I have really come to recognise that I need to.

Leave a Reply

