Review: Scorched

Scorched by Mari Mancusi

Scorched (Scorched, #1)

Publication date: September 3rd 2013

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Number of pages: 352

Series: Scorched (1#)

Genre: YA Fantasy

Source: Borrowed. This is my honest opinion.

pagebreaksbookcomet

 Goodreads synopsis:

Trinity
Don’t leave me here… It starts with a whisper. At first Trinity thinks she’s going crazy. It wouldn’t be a big surprise—her grandpa firmly believes there’s a genuine dragon egg in their dusty little West Texas town. But this voice is real, and it’s begging for her protection. Even if no one else can hear it…

Connor
He’s come from a future scorched by dragonfire. His mission: Find the girl. Destroy the egg. Save the world.

Caleb
He’s everything his twin brother Connor hates: cocky, undisciplined, and obsessed with saving dragons.

Trinity has no idea which brother to believe. All she has to go by is the voice in her head—a dragon that won’t be tamed.

pagebreaksbookcomet

 Review:

If you mention the title of this book to me, I can not stop fangirling over the design. Oh my goodness it’s just plain book loveliness. Gorgeouso. Yeah, gorgeouso is a new word I am using for the purpose of describing Scorched’s beauty. I haven’t seen a paperback version, but the hardcover, the hardcover. I mean the design on the dust jacket is brilliant, especially in person, but the underneath is simply stunning. Really, there is so much attention to detail, from burning barcodes to SCALES on the dragon under the dust jacket. I actually like the design under the dust jacket best. Both spines are gorgeouso too, the dust jacket spine is eyecatching and done in that same pretty coolour as the cover, but underneath is once again fantastic. And the inside bits of the actual hardcover is pretty too.

Ok, enough with the physical attributes of the book. I feel absolutely terrible saying this, but I think that I rate the book’s design over the book’s content.

I loved the descriptions in this story. Especially the bits concerning dragons, like the dragon eggs and dragons themselves. Perfection. Beautiful.

I also really loved the relationship between Trinity and her grandfather. I have always had a soft spot when it comes to happy families. It’s just so nice. Come to think of it, it’s not an entirely happy family but it’s still great. There were some warm fuzzy moments concerning the family that I loved.

The bond between Emmy (the dragon) and Trin (Trinity) was so cute. I loved the way that they protected and looked out for eachother. Aw.

I have to say, I have to pick a side in what is most definitely probably a love triangle, I’m going with Connor. He’s a good guy. I hope. Everyone else can squabble over Caleb. Connor’s mine. Although I wish that he wasn’t so negative towards dragons. How could any one want to harm even a single scale on Emmy?

I think that I would probably class Scorched as a middle grade book. The writing just kind of had that feel to it and while there was romance there, it wasn’t totally in your face. I’m not a huge middle grade fan, so I think that that’s one of the things that could have affected my enjoyment of this book.

Referring to the above, I would recommend Scorched to middle grade readers. At this moment in time I would probably read a sequel and I’m glad I’ve read it. I only wish it was more well-known.

 3/5 comets
The Earth shook. If they thought the Leaning Tower of Pisa was leaning before…

Add to Goodreads

pagebreaksbookcomet

 Goodreads author bio:

Mari MancusiMari Mancusi used to wish she could become a vampire back in high school. But she ended up in another blood sucking profession –journalism — instead. Today she works as a freelance TV producer and author of books for teens and adults.

When not writing about creatures of the night, Mari enjoys traveling, cooking, goth clubbing, watching cheesy horror movies, and her favorite guilty pleasure–videogames. A graduate of Boston University and a two time Emmy Award winner, she lives in Austin , Texas with her husband Jacob, daughter Avalon and their dog Mesquite. You can find Mari online at www.marimancusi.com or www.bloodcovenvampires.com.

One thought on “Review: Scorched

  1. I so want this book because I’ve seen pictures how gorgeous it is! So so beautiful. And is this like How to Train Your Dragon? Haha! I enjoy a lot of middle grade books so I might like this one better. But really, I just want it to pet the pretty. 😛

Leave a Reply

