Your Reading Mood

Ok, so, I’m going to the Penguin Teen Australia Fault in Our Stars Marathon Challenge this weekend and this prompted me to reread The Fault in Our Stars. And I enjoyed it ridiculously more this time around. Just as I predicted. Seriously, I’m getting a little predictable.

Basically, what I’m trying to say is that my enjoyment of a book can be heavily influenced by whatever mood I’m in. I remember when I first read TFiOS I really liked it, but I was a little disappointed because I had expected it to be something mindblowingly spectacular because of ALL THE HYPE. But at the time I was very, very (x100) tired and I had a bad headache. So I liked it enough to be looking forward to the movie, but not quite enough that I’m fangirling crazily every time I think about it.

So I give my mum the book to read the other day and she told me she really enjoyed it. Then as soon as she returned it I reread it. Well almost, I have like 20 pages left. But yeah, this time I really enjoyed it. I appreciated it so much more and NOW I’m constantly fangirling and dancing around when I think about the PTA event.

The other thing that prompted me to write this post was yet again, another rereading. This time of The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong. The Summoning is one of my favourite paranormal books ever, if not my very favourite. And I got to about a quarter of the way through when I put it on hold and read another book instead. I had been doing a lot of studying before starting The Summoning again and was therefore tired and mentally exhausted. I just couldn’t get into the book.

And for example, I can’t always read a light contemporary when I am not feeling happy because it induces a lot of eye-rolling and stuff from me. Or it can totally have totally the opposite effect and make me feel better. It’s a strange world. Vice-versa with dystopians, really dark ones when I am in cheerful mode can put me out of it very quickly. Or a lighter one can suit my mood, especially fun ones like The Selection by Kiera Cass.

This is where a reading slump can be challenging. If I’m in a dreaded slump then I can get totally put off a book by my reading mood if I don’t get into it straight away. This is usually where I lean towards contemporaries. Not chicklit kind of contemporary, or realistic/issue kind of contemporary, but in the middle kind of contemporary. Not too dark, not too light. Perfetto. (Like my Italian? Now I’m going to be totally embarrassed if I’ve made an error.)

What about you? Do you have a “reading mood”? And if so, does it affect your reading?

3 thoughts on “Your Reading Mood

  1. I think moods and enjoyment often work hand in hand. But I think the greater tends to pull the direction in which I go. A really bad reading slump or bad mood can make me hate a lot of books, but a really good book can lift my spirits. It’s quite difficult how to explain it or pinpoint the exact effects. But they are definitely related. Did I make sense? 😛

  2. I’m not sure if I have reading moods, although there are times when I KNOW that a certain book will just irritate me and I know I will have to stay away from it.
    And then there are times when i may feel like reading the story within the book, but I just cannot bring myself yo pick up the book and immerse myself in it. It just looks to me as if it would take Herculean strength and effort to read the book (even though I want to!).
    So I don’t really know if they are moods per se because I don’t know the driving force behind them, haha.
    I am thinking of re-reading TFiOS because I thought it was an average book but then I ADORED the movie with a fiery burning passion (also, what did you think?!). Maybe my view will be changed? Ill have to read and see, I suppose!

Leave a Reply

