Review: Flirting in Italian

Flirting in Italian by Lauren Henderson

Flirting in Italian (Flirting in Italian #1)

Publication date: June 12th 2012

Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

Number of pages: 323

Series: Flirting in Italian (1#)

Genre: YA Contemporary

Source: Borrowed. This is my honest review.

 pagebreaksbookcomet

 Goodreads synopsis:

Four girls. One magical, and possibly dangerous Italian summer. Family mysteries, ancient castles, long hot nights of dancing under the stars . . . and, of course, plenty of gorgeous Italian boys!

pagebreaksbookcomet

 Review:

Can I go to Italy? Like now?

In fact, the Italian side of things is what attracted me to Flirting in Italian. I came across in the library and was like “I’m going to Italy this year and this book is set in Italy. It must be a sign!” Therefore I snatched it up.

I don’t think that I could have picked a better book to get me excited about Italy. It had LOTS of sentences written in Italian and I translated them when I didn’t know what they meant. Trying to learn Italian, you see. So yes, it taught me quite a few words. Helpful ones I might actually need.

I adore boarding and finishing school books, so I was ecstatic to find out that basically this was both. In ITALY! The culture (well, young people’s culture) was heavily emphasised and that was awesome.

Um, how about cute guy overload! There were so many Italian guys I couldn’t count them on both hands. Not complaining at all.

I liked the teeny bit of mystery thrown in. I was a little surprised by the ending. But as for the majority of the story, it was good.

If you’re interested in travel and Italy in particular, I think you should give Flirting in Italian. It was a good book and I’m really looking forward to the sequel.

 4/5 comets
A meteor shower. A great show.

Add to Goodreads

pagebreaksbookcomet

 Goodreads author bio:

Lauren HendersonBorn in London in 1966, Lauren Henderson read English at university and then worked as a journalist for – among other publications – the New Statesman, Marxism Today, the Observer and Lime Lizard, a much-mourned indie music magazine. Lauren now divides her time between Italy and London and, when not wine-tasting, writes full-time.

2 thoughts on “Review: Flirting in Italian

  1. I love Italy! It is so high on my to-visit list 😀 And you’re going this year? OHMYGOSH THAT IS SO AMAZING AND EXCITING!
    This book sounds so cute and fluffy, and I think I need to read it, haha.
    If you liked this, I’d suggest My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century! it’s set in Italy but in the 16th Century, and it’s just really cute ^.^

  2. Take me to Italy with you please! 😛 I’m so glad you liked this one. I shall stop eyeing it and start planning buying it. Hahaha! I love books set in Europe! Dream destination. Haha

Leave a Reply

