Review: Supernaturally

Supernaturally by Kiersten White

Supernaturally (Paranormalcy, #2)

Publication date: July 26th 2011

Publisher: HarperTeen

Number of pages: 336

Series: Paranormalcy (2#)

Genre: YA Paranormal

Source: Bought. This is my honest opinion.

pagebreaksbookcomet

 Goodreads synopsis:

Evie finally has the normal life she’s always longed for. But she’s shocked to discover that being ordinary can be…kind of boring. Just when Evie starts to long for her days at the International Paranormal Containment Agency, she’s given a chance to work for them again. Desperate for a break from all the normalcy, she agrees.

But as one disastrous mission leads to another, Evie starts to wonder if she made the right choice. And when Evie’s faerie ex-boyfriend Reth appears with devastating revelations about her past, she discovers that there’s a battle brewing between the faerie courts that could throw the whole supernatural world into chaos. The prize in question? Evie herself.

So much for normal.

pagebreaksbookcomet

 Review:

This trilogy is my guilty pleasure series and I am absolutely unashamed of it.

I don’t have many guilty pleasure books. Here’s my criteria for a guilty pleasure book:
– strangely addictive
– interesting characters
– romance, usually cute.
– cool world

So as you can see, by a guilty pleasure book, I don’t mean a literary masterpiece. I’m not saying that to be horrible because I really enjoyed this book. A guilty pleasure book, for me, is generally a book I can see flaws with but am able to overlook because I can’t stop reading it and it makes up for them in other ways.

If the third and final book in this trilogy, Endlessly, doesn’t live up to my expectations, I will be fairly depressed because I really am enjoying this trilogy and I have high hopes for how it will end.

The covers are surprisingly pretty in person. I mean, they’re pretty in digital form, but really eye-catching in physical form. The spine and all.

I wish that there had been more interaction between Evie and Lend in this book because I absolutely loved their relationship – it was so cute and they are a literary couple that are meant to be. It’s a fact. I just felt that they didn’t spend enough time together in this book. It was more focused on a new character, Jack. Don’t get me wrong, I liked Jack but I like Lend too.

The books in this series seem to be both character and world focused in equal parts. There’s the fact that Evie is trying to come to terms with human life and high school not being exactly what she expected and there’s also emphasis on the creatures in this paranormal world as well.

There were definitely a few funny parts in this book as well. If any of you have read this book, you will probably know that I’m talking about a certain scene with a certain Jack and a certain gym teacher? I laughed so loudly. The acknowledgements were very possibly the funniest acknowledgements I’ve ever read too. I’d love to meet Kiersten White, I reckon she’d be hilarious.

I’m really excited to read the next book. You can’t call yourself a paranormal fan if you haven’t read this series. It’s awesome.

 4/5 comets
A meteor shower. A great show.

Add to Goodreads

pagebreaksbookcomet

 Goodreads author bio:

Kiersten WhiteHi! I’m the New York Times best-selling author of Paranormalcy and Supernaturally. I also give the most awkward hugs in the world. You should probably opt for one of my books over one of my hugs, but then again, maybe you like awkward hugs.

As for me, I like writing flirting scenes, and fighting scenes, and sometimes I write scenes that fall somewhere in between the two, but only if I can’t avoid it.

Leave a Reply

