Heir of Fire

Anyone who has been following me for a while knows that I absolutely adored Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas and they might have seen me fangirl over Crown of Midnight, which I own but have yet to read.

Recently the cover(s) for the third book, Heir of Fire, were released!

Awesome

Here is the US version:

Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3)

And here is the UK/AUS version:

Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass, #3)

I haven’t read the synopsis yet (because I don’t want to spoil the second book for myself) but here it is, taken from Goodreads:

Lost and broken, Celaena Sardothien’s only thought is to avenge the savage death of her dearest friend: as the King of Adarlan’s Assassin, she is bound to serve this tyrant, but he will pay for what he did. Any hope Celaena has of destroying the king lies in answers to be found in Wendlyn. Sacrificing his future, Chaol, the Captain of the King’s Guard, has sent Celaena there to protect her, but her darkest demons lay in that same place. If she can overcome them, she will be Adarlan’s biggest threat – and his own toughest enemy.

While Celaena learns of her true destiny, and the eyes of Erilea are on Wendlyn, a brutal and beastly force is preparing to take to the skies. Will Celaena find the strength not only to win her own battles, but to fight a war that could pit her loyalties to her own people against those she has grown to love?

—-

The current release date for the US version is September 2nd 2014, while the release date for the UK/AUS version is September 11th 2014.

Now comes the great cover debate.

Honestly, I have to say that the cover is my least favourite so far. I mean, I think it’s a little boring compared to the covers of the first two books. I love the colour of the background of the US cover but I like the actual design of the other edition. I really wish that they’d combine the two or something. Although I guess the UK version matches the UK versions of the first two books.

One thing that I really do like about this cover, is that there is a decent view of Celaena’s face. You have to admit, her hair is pretty amazing. And she has a bow and arrow this time which is pretty cool.

I think overall I like the UK/AUS version of the cover best because the other one does even less for me. That being said, I’m super excited to continue on with this series and about Sarah J. Maas’ new series, of which the first book (A Court of Thorns and Roses) will be publishing in 2015.

—-

Just in case you didn’t know, here are the  covers of the first two books (because I’m feeling generous, I’ll show both the US and UK editions):

Throne of Glass –

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)

Crown of Midnight –

Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass, #2)Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass, #2)

There’s also a bind-up of the novellas in the series called The Assasin’s Blade –

The Assassin's Blade (Throne of Glass, #0.1-0.5)

—-

I absolutely loved what I have read of this series and can’t recommend it enough. At this point in time, the series will be six books long (possibly even seven) and it should be epic. How have the movie rights still not have been bought?

—-

What do you think about the covers and which edition do you prefer? Have you read this series yet?

 

 

 

 

*I do not claim ownership of the images/gif used in this post

6 thoughts on “Heir of Fire

  1. I love the covers. I’m nature which to choose. I haven’t read any of the books, but a lot of bloggers seem to love it. I don’t plan to pick it up any time soon though because I can’t take on another series.

Leave a Reply

