Review: Becoming Alpha

Becoming Alpha by Aileen Erin

Becoming Alpha (Alpha Girl, #1)

Publication date: December 17th 2013 (first published November 1st 2013)

Publisher: Ink Monster, LLC

Number of pages: 267

Series: Alpha Girl (1#)

Genre: YA Paranormal

Source: Received in exchange for review. This is my honest opinion.

pagebreaksbookcomet

 Goodreads synopsis:

Tessa McCaide has a unique talent for getting into trouble. Then again, it isn’t easy for a girl with visions to ignore what she sees. Luckily Tessa and her family are leaving California and moving halfway across the country, giving her the perfect opportunity to leave her reputation as “Freaky Tessa” behind.

But Tessa doesn’t realize that kissing the wrong guy in her new Texas town could land her in far more trouble than she ever imagined. Like being forced to attend St. Ailbe’s Academy, a secret boarding school for werewolves.

Even if the wrong guy did accidentally turn her into one of “them” and doom her to attending the weirdest high school ever, Tessa can’t help her growing attraction to the mysterious Dastien Laurent.

When vampires attack St. Alibe’s and her visions pinpoint an enemy in their midst, Tessa realizes that boy drama and her newfound canine tendencies might just be the least of her problems.

pagebreaksbookcomet

 Review:

Becoming Alpha is totally becoming a favourite werewolf book.

Perhaps my favourite thing about Becoming Alpha was the author’s writing style. I thought that it was really realistic of how a teen would speak and think. Or maybe that’s because that’s really similar to my style of both thoughts and writing. But I really enjoyed reading Aileen Erin’s writing style, I thought it was modern and it really just sucked me into the story.

Speaking of what I liked, Tessa. I found her totally relatable and I don’t often say that because I just generally don’t find that many characters relatable. And she thinks like me. I quote:
“I needed lots and lots of ice cream. Even if it was my breakfast. It had milk and eggs. That totally counted.” – 15%

Stuff like that made me chuckle through out the book. I think it’s actually the first time I have said chuckle in a review. Yeah I didn’t laugh in this book, I chuckled.

The one thing that really irked me, was a couple of grammatical errors. There were at least two full stops where there should have been question marks and anyone who even remotely knows me, knows that I am big on grammar. If it was done on purpose, I think I get why, but they really should have been question marks.

Another contender for my favourite thing, has to be the take on werewolves. Honestly, I don’t read that many werewolf books but I really, really liked Aileen Erin’s take. It was super cool and very unlike any other werewolf book that I’ve read. It reminded me a little of the House of Night series by P. C. and Kristin Cast but I thought it was a world of better.

Then there comes the relationship between Tessa and Dastien. I liked it and I didn’t. I thought it was a little weird and there comes a point when their dependency on eachother got a bit irritating, but it was also sweet and complimented the story. Plus there was the fact that Dastien is French. Oh la la.

One of my favourite characters had to be Axel. His protectiveness over his sister was so cute and he was really funny, which never goes a miss in my books. He was just as cool as the alpha concept. I liked the way that Aileen Erin crafted the whole alpha subplot into the story, it was quite interesting.

The cover of this book is absolutely gorgeous. The colours, the shades of those colours, the wolf, the girl, the drama…it’s just so pretty. I hope that the other covers of books in this series are this pretty.

I honestly am considering whether Becoming Alpha is the best werewolf book that I have read so far. It definitely exceeded my expectations and I hope that I not only get the chance to continue with this series and some point, but that future books in this series are just as good, if not better.

The reason that I am not giving Becoming Alpha five stars/comets, is because I feel like something was missing. And I know, you have to explain yourself after a comment like that. I can’t really pick out what it was, but I have a feeling that it may be something to do with the plot, like maybe a bigger climax?

Just as a little review side note, but keep reading to the end! And I mean past the end. To the acknowledgments. Aileen Erin offers some advice to writers that I really like because it’s pretty honest. Then at the very end is another beautiful picture, that could rival the cover.

 4.5/5 comets
KABOOM! That only leaves one little continent. One little flaw.

Add to Goodreads

pagebreaksbookcomet

 Goodreads author bio:

Aileen ErinTrek (TNG FTW), she reads Quenya and some Sindarin, and has a severe fascination with the supernatural. Aileen has a BS in Radio-TV-Film from the University of Texas at Austin, and an MFA in Writing Popular Fiction from Seton Hill University. She lives with her husband in Los Angeles, and spends her days doing her favorite things: reading books, creating worlds, and kicking ass.

Leave a Reply

