It’s…Tuesday

It’s Tuesday (3#)

Goodness gracious, I actually had a fantastic Tuesday. Are you gobsmacked as well? I hope that you all had/have an awesome Tuesday too 🙂

—-

Five things that happened to me today:

  1. If you think you can beat me at Mariokart, you’re wrong. That’s MY game. I found out I still have the skill months later *gloats*
  2. I changed my computer wallpaper. This new baby is so dramatic. Oh goodness, I just called my wallpaper “baby”. No further comment.
  3. I am being stalked by salted caramel. I’m not even exaggerating. I am starting to get freaked out. I don’t know if you guys are seeing this new salted caramel craze where you live but where I am it’s everywhere. It’s quite distressing, even though I do like salted caramel.
  4. I discovered that I only know that song Moskau by Dschingis Khan in Russian. I can sing the Russian version fluently and start spluttering as soon as the English version is on.
  5. I went into the library and came out with exactly the same amount of books I said I would. I made a goal and stuck to it. Pfffft. Who am I kidding? I totally didn’t.

—-

News:

Two awesome reading challenges started today! If you’re curious and want to join in the epicness (is that a word?), just look at the post below this one because I am feeling a little lazy.

You know how I mentioned amazing wallpapers (for your computer) earlier on? I will share the link to the site with you because you simply can not not have one of these glaring (don’t worry, glaring lovingly) at you every time you look at your home screen. Click HERE

J. K. Rowling recently announced fantastically good news: there will be three Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them movies done in a similar style to The Hobbit! Feel free to read more HERE

Huffington Post published this hilariously and embarrassingly true post about book lovers. HERE

—-

Atlantis TV Show Review

Season 1, Episode 1: The Earth Bull

No spoilers

So, a few weeks ago I said I was looking for a TV show to get into that wasn’t my precious Supernatural? Well I found it! It’s called…Atlantis.

My thoughts before starting the first episode were pretty much that I was excited that I finally had found a show (the box set of which had been under my nose the whole time) and that I was also excited because I have always had this obsession with Atlantis.

Here is my terrible synopsis:

A young man Jason searches the deep of the sea, searching for his father, who is assumed to be drowned. While searching, Jason accidentally ends up in the lost city of Atlantis. Jason makes two new friends: Pythagoras and Hercules and they get tangled up in the city’s ritual: citizens are sacrificed to the Minotaur in the Labyrinth.

Really, I don’t think the show started out very well. There should have been more of an introduction because it just moved too fast and really there should have been more of an introduction to Jason’s character. It got a lot better as the episode went on, though. Not to mention it was slightly unbelievable.

Then Jason meets Pythagoras and the show takes a 90 degree turn for the better. Jason calls Pythagoras the  “triangle guy” to which Pythagoras replies in his quirky way, “How did you know I’ve been thinking about triangles?”

Of course the show, any BBC show in fact, wouldn’t be complete without the funny guy with British humour. The character I’m talking about, is Hercules. The drunk. And Ariadne, the token pretty person.

I know I’m being a little biased here, but I don’t think the BBC can do any wrong. Maybe that’s the English half of me being patriotic, but I geniunely haven’t found a BBC show yet that I don’t love. So when I am presented with a show set in the place of my childhood dreams, with quirky characters, Greek mythology and originality, I shoved it into the DVD player (gently) and eventually fell in love with the show.

Yes, each episode is to do with Ancient Greek mythology, from what I gather. Minotaur, labyrinth first episode and I am pretty sure that the next episode is about Medusa, so if you’re into that sort of stuff, this is probably for you.

I can’t do this review without complimenting the setting. It was gorgeous and just how I imagine Ancient Greece would have looked. Honestly, I imagined Atlantis as a very sophisticated city, so the show didn’t quite meet my expectations there. But it was still pretty and the costumes matched well.

If you’re looking for a new show, I definitely recommend Atlantis. Just try to stick with the show until Jason meets Pythagoras, because that’s when it gets good. If you loved Merlin, you’ll probably love this too. I’m really looking forward to the next episode!

4/5 comets

Leave a Reply

