So you want to be a book blogger?

 

Babbling with Bookcomet (12#)

babblingwithbookcomet

So you think you want to be a book blogger?

Being a book blogger is definitely harder than it looks. Being any sort of blogger is definitely harder than it looks. Whether they be a book blogger, fashion blogger, food blogger, or whatever, who ever you ask is probably going to tell you something different.

For me, here is what I struggle with, and what you might want to consider if you are thinking about becoming a book blogger:

  • Time –

Tick tock, tick tock (sorry I have just been watching Catching Fire – Hunger Games 2 – so a certain scene with Wiress is in my mind)!

But yes, time is probably the hardest thing for me. If you’re in some sort of school, work or at home, life can get pretty busy. And apparently stuff like studying is supposed to come before blogging, but pfffft. Who needs a job, right? Now this is where I point out my lack of posts on Monday, Wednesday and Thursday.

I know that I’m not the only book blogger who spends literally hours a week doing posts and then sometimes maintenance stuff as well. I know some book bloggers who say they spend 30+ hours week. Now, say that you blog every week doing at least those 30 hours, then that’s 1,560 hours MINIMUM a year. According to my very quick addition, I would spend around at least 221 hours a year doing just posts, which is nothing really compared to the 1560 hours. But that’s not including maintenance, giveaways, challenges, commenting and replying, etc.

  • Creativity –

As a book blogger, you’re expected to be original and creative. There’s definitely pressure in this area. You need to stand out and attract new followers. Then you have to keep and entertain the ones you already have. Finding new content can be particularly hard if you’re experiencing “blogger’s block” (oh please tell me I just invented a new term. That would be ridiculously cool).

  • Reading –

One of the major posts are reviews. Plus if you’re looking to get in the ARC (Advanced Reader Copy) side of things, you’re obviously going to need reviews. Then you need to read enough and it sucks if you don’t enjoy the review copies provided to by the author who personally requested the review. Does anybody else feel as ridiculously guilty as I do when I’m not a fan of the book.

I’m not trying to put anyone off becoming a book blogger! Trust me it’s awesome! And that’s it from me. But my questions for you: If you’re a book blogger, do you struggle with anything? If you’re not, would you like to be a book blogger, or do you enjoy reading the posts more?

 

4 thoughts on “So you want to be a book blogger?

  1. Blogging definitely has its struggles. But it should always be more fun than stress because when that happens, you might want to reevaluate why you do what you do. :)) and I agree it takes so much time and whatnot. But it’s also really enjoyable. 🙂

Leave a Reply

