Review: Paranormalcy

Paranormalcy by Kiersten White

Paranormalcy (Paranormalcy, #1)

Publication date: August 31st 2010

Publisher: HarperTeen

Number of pages: 335

Series: Paranormalcy (1#)

Genre: YA Urban Fantasy

Source: Purchased. This is my honest opinion.

pagebreaksbookcomet

 Goodreads synopsis:

Evie’s always thought of herself as a normal teenager, even though she works for the International Paranormal Containment Agency, her ex-boyfriend is a faerie, she’s falling for a shape-shifter, and she’s the only person who can see through paranormals’ glamours.

But Evie’s about to realize that she may very well be at the center of a dark faerie prophecy promising destruction to all paranormal creatures.

So much for normal.

pagebreaksbookcomet

 Review:

Talk about hard to review.

You have literally no idea I have been staring at this screen.

A long time.

I guess I could start off by saying that I looooooved the romance. Man, it was so adorable. In fact, I’m astounded that I actually liked the name Lend. It was endearing.

I loved all the supernatural creatures and the beginning but with the vampire. Is it twisted if I say I liked the bits with Reth? Because I did.

The fire thing and Evie’s gift was cool too.

What I didn’t like, or should I say who I didn’t like, was Evie. Pink, pink, Tasey, high school, pink, pink. Tasey reminds me way to much of Buffy the Vampire Slayer because Buffy called HER stake Mr. Pointy. And all the bleeps really annoyed me too. I definitely warmed to her a little more as the book went on though.

I will definitely be continuing with the series – I already have the second book – and it was strangely addicting I that sense.

 3.5/5 comets
Looks like the start of an apocalypse. Nearly there.

Add to Goodreads

pagebreaksbookcomet

 Goodreads author bio:

Kiersten WhiteHi! I’m the New York Times best-selling author of Paranormalcy and Supernaturally. I also give the most awkward hugs in the world. You should probably opt for one of my books over one of my hugs, but then again, maybe you like awkward hugs.

As for me, I like writing flirting scenes, and fighting scenes, and sometimes I write scenes that fall somewhere in between the two, but only if I can’t avoid it.

Leave a Reply

