Review: Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour

Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

Amy and Roger's Epic Detour

Publication date: May 4th 2010

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Number of pages: 352

Series: N/A

Genre: YA Contemporary

Source: Borrowed. This is my honest opinion.

pagebreaksbookcomet

 Goodreads synopsis:

Amy Curry thinks her life sucks. Her mom decides to move from California to Connecticut to start anew–just in time for Amy’s senior year. Her dad recently died in a car accident. So Amy embarks on a road trip to escape from it all, driving cross-country from the home she’s always known toward her new life. Joining Amy on the road trip is Roger, the son of Amy’s mother’s old friend. Amy hasn’t seen him in years, and she is less than thrilled to be driving across the country with a guy she barely knows. So she’s surprised to find that she is developing a crush on him. At the same time, she’s coming to terms with her father’s death and how to put her own life back together after the accident. Told in traditional narrative as well as scraps from the road–diner napkins, motel receipts, postcards–this is the story of one girl’s journey to find herself.

pagebreaksbookcomet


Review:

I feel like moving to America just so I can go on a roadtrip now.

Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour is the cutest thing. There’s romance, travel, pictures, cute little notes and a ton of personality in this fun ride of a book (see what I did there?). I seriously am on the verge of mega-fangirling as soon as I see or hear this title. Why don’t I ever see it in shops here?

I loved reading the conversations between Amy and Roger. I loved how they were so prominent in the story and you just had to look at the structure of a sentence to know who was speaking. They had all these little quirks (root beers, anyone?) and I just totally loved to read about them.

If Second Chance Summer really is a sequel, I need it now. –Edit: Apparently not. But I still need it!–

Here are some quotes I adored:
(Roger mimicking Amy) “Look! A tree! I must stop and take a picture of it!” – pg 110

“So it’s 1951,” Roger said. “Gene Hackman is the coach of this Indiana high school basketball team. And they’re the underdogs. And nobody expects them to win the championship.”
“But they do anyway?” I guessed..
Roger turned to me, surprised. “I thought you said you hadn’t seen it.” – pg 211

Whoever on the cover was quoted, said that this was “a near-perfect Summer read”, if I remember correctly. Near perfect? NEAR perfect? It WAS a perfect Summer read.

I totally adored and recommend this book. Huge thanks to Francine at Always Lost in Books for recommending it. Otherwise this would have been shoved to the bottom of my contemporary TBR.

 5/5 comets!
Bye, bye Earth. Out of this world!

Add to Goodreads

pagebreaksbookcomet

 Goodreads author bio:

Morgan MatsonMorgan Matson grew up in New York City and Greenwich, Connecticut. She attended Occidental College in Los Angeles but halfway though a theater degree, she started working in the children’s department of Vroman’s Bookstore and fell in love with YA literature.

Following college graduation (and the proud bearer of an incredibly useful theater/English degree) she moved back East to attend the New School, where she received her M.F.A in Writing for Children.
Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour, inspired by Morgan’s three cross-country road trips, was published in May 2010. It was named an ALA Top Ten Best Book, a PW “Flying Start” book, and was shortlisted for the Waterstone’s Book Prize. It has since been published in five different languages and six different countries.

In the meantime, Morgan moved back to California, went back to school again and in 2011 received an M.F.A. in Screenwriting from the University of Southern California.

Her second book, Second Chance Summer, was published in May 2012 and draws largely on her experiences spending summers growing up in the Pocono Mountains of Pennsylvania.

Morgan currently lives in Los Angeles, though she loves to travel and does it whenever she can. She is currently writing another book, to be published in 2014.

2 thoughts on “Review: Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour

  1. I’m so glad you loved this. I would have totally hated you if you hadn’t. Just kidding. But yes, this is perfect. I totally want to read all of her books because of it. I actually have 2 of her books on kindle, which I’ll read when I’m ready for the feels. I heard so many good things about Second Chance Summer. Also, as much as I’d want more of Amy & Roger, I don’t think I’d want it to be series. 😛

Leave a Reply

