Review: Notable

Notable by Marni Bates

Notable (Smith High, #3)

Publication date: October 29th 2013

Publisher: K-Teen

Number of pages: 272

Series: Smith High (3# (can be read as standalone))

Genre: YA Contemporary

Source: Received in exchange for review. This is my honest opinion.

pagebreaksbookcomet

 Goodreads synopsis:

I take no prisoners…

I’m Chelsea Halloway and I will happily destroy your social life if you mess with me. Just ask anyone. There is no situation I can’t handle. Divorcing parents? No problem. An ex-boyfriend who wants to date Smith High School’s biggest geek instead of me? Just a matter of time before I can make him see reason. At least, until my parents decide to ship me off on a study abroad trip to Cambodia…

Now instead of being admired as the queen of the Notables, I’m stuck with a bunch of college students who don’t take me seriously, and a professor who accidentally landed himself on the wrong side of a drug lord. And it’s up to me to get us all out of the country alive–even the annoying jerk with the green eyes who won’t stop calling me “princess.”

Oh yeah, what could possibly go wrong?

pagebreaksbookcomet

 Review:

You could say that this book was notable. But you could also say that it was great. Personal choice, ya know?

Well my choice is great. Do you want to know why? Well, dear followers/random readers, read on indeed.

Chelsea is your typical mean girl. And mean girls have feelings too. So how does Chelsea feel about being sent to Cambodia? Not very happy.

And she is totally right. She is sent on one of the most dangerous aadventures of a lifetime. Drug dealers, violence and of course a bit of love, this was one gripping book.

I thought that Marni Bates did a fantastic job at executing the mean girl kind of thing. Yeah, sure, it was a little stereotypical, but you cares? Not me. Marni managed to prove that even though Chelsea didn’t exactly get the best SAT (think that’s it. Sorry, not American) scores, it certainly didn’t make her dumb. And it proved that not all mean girls are mean for no reason. They have wants too and they may put on a steel exterior but they are not real.

No, I am not a patriot for mean girls.

I thought that the romance was so cute! I’m glad she ended up with that person because they were just perfect for each other.

I have not yet read any of the other books in the series, but I really want to. If I am to get them, I may as well wait for the fourth book to come out. While you don’t need to read them before Notable, I can see why it would enhance your reading experience.

I would recommend this to anyone open to contemporaries, looking for a good book with a different storyline. Loved it!
4.5/5 comets
KABOOM! That only leaves one continet. One little flaw.

Add to Goodreads

pagebreaksbookcomet

 Goodreads author bio:

Marni BatesMy autobiography MARNI (part of HCI’s Louder Than Words series) was on the New York Public Library Stuff for the Teen Age 2010 List. I then signed a four book contract with KTeen. My first YA novel, AWKWARD, has been optioned by the Disney Channel as a made-for-TV movie and translated into Portuguese, Spanish, and Hungarian.

In my free time I can be found reading romance novels, rollerblading, singing really loudly (and off-key) in public and watching copious amounts of television–strictly for artistic inspiration, of course.

 
2 thoughts on “Review: Notable

  1. I wasn’t expecting much from this one, but I ended up liking it too. I totally loved Chelsea even though she was the mean girl

Leave a Reply

