Review: The Coldest Girl in Coldtown

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown

Publication date: September 3rd 2013

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Number of pages: 419

Series: N/A

Genre: YA Fantasy/Horror

Source: Borrowed

 pagebreaksbookcomet

 Goodreads synopsis:

Tana lives in a world where walled cities called Coldtowns exist. In them, quarantined monsters and humans mingle in a decadently bloody mix of predator and prey. The only problem is, once you pass through Coldtown’s gates, you can never leave.

One morning, after a perfectly ordinary party, Tana wakes up surrounded by corpses. The only other survivors of this massacre are her exasperatingly endearing ex-boyfriend, infected and on the edge, and a mysterious boy burdened with a terrible secret. Shaken and determined, Tana enters a race against the clock to save the three of them the only way she knows how: by going straight to the wicked, opulent heart of Coldtown itself.

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown is a wholly original story of rage and revenge, of guilt and horror, and of love and loathing from bestselling and acclaimed author Holly Black.

pagebreaksbookcomet

 Review:

Why did I choose this one as my first Holly Black book? I know for a fact I am going to love her Curseworker’s trilogy, in fact I already have the first two books. I just thought I’d like this one even more because I am one of those people who still read and like vampire books.

My problem was that I was just disappointed. I never got into the story because I thought Tana was totally unrelatable and I hated her character. To me, it was like she had no personality. Maybe it didn’t help that it was told in third person either, because I generally connect a lot more with the main character when the story is told in first person.

What I did like was that it was quite dark (a lot more so than a lot of books I read) and that was a change. Most vampire books I read are paranormal romance, emphasis on the romance. But this one was a lot more twisted and darker. Not gruesome as such but there was a lot of death and focus on the conversion of human or vampire.

To be honest, I think that I liked the idea of the story more than I liked it in actuality. I don’t read many standalones and I didn’t really like this one.

However, there were some quote-worthy lines and I actually wrote one down. I wanted to write another but there was nothing nearby I could use to write it down on or with and no page marker. So, here we are:
“Everybody dies alone,” Jameson said, and kept going. “Not everyone wakes up right after” – pg 203

Maybe you’d like this if you’re into standalones and darker books. It just didn’t grab me.

 2/5 comets
Just scraped past. A couple of Band-Aids would fix it up.

Add to Goodreads

pagebreaksbookcomet

 Goodreads author bio:

Holly BlackHolly Black is a best-selling author of contemporary fantasy novels for kids, teens, and adults. She is the author of the Modern Faerie Tale series (Tithe, Valiant, and Ironside), The Spiderwick Chronicles (with Tony DiTerlizzi), and The Good Neighbors graphic novels (with Ted Naifeh) The Poison Eaters and Other Stories, a collection of short fiction, and The Curse Worker series (White Cat, Red Glove, and Black Heart). She is also the co-editor of three anthologies, Geektastic (with Cecil Castellucci), Zombies vs. Unicorns (with Justine Larbalestier), and Welcome to Bordertown (with Ellen Kushner). Her most recent works are the middle grade novel, Doll Bones, and the dark fantasy stand-alone, The Coldest Girl in Coldtown.

She lives in Massachusetts with her husband, Theo, in a house with a secret library.

Leave a Reply

