Review: More Than This

More Than This by Patrick Ness

More Than This

Publication date: September 10th 2013

Publisher: Candlewick Press

Number of pages: 480

Series: N/A

Genre: YA Science Fiction

Source: Borrowed (audio)

pagebreaksbookcomet

 Goodreads synopsis:

From two-time Carnegie Medal winner Patrick Ness comes an enthralling and provocative new novel chronicling the life — or perhaps afterlife — of a teen trapped in a crumbling, abandoned world.

A boy named Seth drowns, desperate and alone in his final moments, losing his life as the pounding sea claims him. But then he wakes. He is naked, thirsty, starving. But alive. How is that possible? He remembers dying, his bones breaking, his skull dashed upon the rocks. So how is he here? And where is this place? It looks like the suburban English town where he lived as a child, before an unthinkable tragedy happened and his family moved to America. But the neighborhood around his old house is overgrown, covered in dust, and completely abandoned. What’s going on? And why is it that whenever he closes his eyes, he falls prey to vivid, agonizing memories that seem more real than the world around him? Seth begins a search for answers, hoping that he might not be alone, that this might not be the hell he fears it to be, that there might be more than just this. . . .

pagebreaksbookcomet

 Review:

Patrick Ness has the most beautiful and unique writing style that I think I could pick any single one of his books. More Than This has to be my favourite book of his so far.

I loved the way that behind everything in the story that there had to be something more. I loved all the references to it and the way that the title reflected it.

Seth was such an amazing character and I loved him, Tomasz, Regine, Owen…just everyone! Every single character was so significant to the story and every little thing added to the big picture. Sometimes I regret my no spoiler review policy. I still feel like if I was walking down the street I’d be able to immediately recognise any of them. That hardly ever happens to me because I’m not a great visualiser when I read. But each character, however important they may seem has this important role to how everything happened.

I actually listen to the recording of this and I was expecting not to finish listening to it before it was due back but I listen to a third of it in one day without even trying. The narrator did a fantastic job at portraying characters – it was all just great.

It was all just so cool. I totally recommend this. Amazing. Not what you’d expect.

 5/5 comets!
Bye, bye Earth. Out of this world!

Add to Goodreads

pagebreaksbookcomet

 Goodreads author bio:

Patrick NessPatrick Ness, an award-winning novelist, has written for England’s Radio 4 and Sunday Telegraph and is a literary critic for The Guardian. He has written many books, including the Chaos Walking Trilogy, The Crash of Hennington, Topics About Which I Know Nothing, and A Monster Calls.

He has won numerous awards, including the Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize, the Booktrust Teenage Prize, and the Costa Children’s Book Award. Born in Virginia, he currently lives in London.

2 thoughts on “Review: More Than This

  1. Awesome review! This book has been on my TBR list for awhile. I just can’t get to it cuz I don’t have…a…copy…………yet…. -.-‘

    Hopefully it’ll all change soon.

    • Livvvy75 says:

      YOU HAVE TO READ THIS! It’s actually beautiful, which I was shocked to find, for a sci-fi book. Patrick Ness has the nicest writing style. Hope you get a copy soon! 😉

Leave a Reply

