Review: Teardrop

Teardrop (Teardrop, #1)

Publication date: October 22nd 2013 (first published January 1st 2013)

Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

Number of pages: 441

Genre: YA Fantasy/Paranormal

Series: Teardrop (1#)

Source: Borrowed. This is my honest opinion.

pagebreaksbookcomet

 Goodreads synopsis:

Never, ever cry… Seventeen-year-old Eureka won’t let anyone close enough to feel her pain. After her mother was killed in a freak accident, the things she used to love hold no meaning. She wants to escape, but one thing holds her back: Ander, the boy who is everywhere she goes, whose turquoise eyes are like the ocean. And then Eureka uncovers an ancient tale of romance and heartbreak, about a girl who cried an entire continent into the sea. Suddenly her mother’s death and Ander’s appearance seem connected, and her life takes on dark undercurrents that don’t make sense. Can everything you love be washed away?

pagebreaksbookcomet

 Review:

I absolutely adore Lauren Kate and her writing. My problem is that I was not a huge fan of this story.

My major issue was that nothing happened for long periods of time. And sometimes when they did, they had little to do with what the story was about.

I thought that the idea of never crying and these weird people sounded amazing, plus my interest in Atlantis helped this book into my hands. And if I’m being completely honest, I love the girl on the cover’s dress. My issue was that the crying and Atlantis was never really in the story much.

I’ve got to hand it to Lauren Kate though, no matter the book, she is fantastic at writing the exciting parts. When something happens, it hits you hard and you do not forget. I still remember the ending of The Betrayl of Natalie Hargrove clearly and I read it years ago.

While I think that the Fallen series will remain a favourite over this one, I would probably read a sequel because I’m very interested in seeing where it goes.

 3.5/5 comets
Looks like the start of an apocalypse. Nearly there.

Add to Goodreads

pagebreaksbookcomet

 Goodreads author bio:

Lauren KateLauren Kate grew up in Dallas, went to school in Atlanta, and started writing in New York.
She is the author of Fallen and The Betrayal of Natalie Hargrove. She lives in Laurel Canyon with her husband and hopes to work in a restaurant kitchen, get a dog, and learn how to surf.
She is currently at work on the sequel to Fallen.

 
Leave a Reply

