Writing

From the posts I’ve come across discussing whether book bloggers like writing as well as reading, the answer seems to be yes, a lot of book bloggers love to write as well. And I don’t mean they just like to write posts because that would be a stupid thing toΒ  say because there’d be no point in being a book blogger. Unless you didn’t write the posts…and just posted pictures…

But anyway, the reason I wrote this post is because I have decided that I’m going to put way more time towards writing a novel. It might be hard, with school, blogging and all, but it’s something I’d really like to do – so why not?

I have been trying to write a novel since I was about 6. No exaggeration. I think it was handwritten and about 3 pages long, including a cover page. What was it about? Apples. Yes, apples. I wrote a slightly longer one when I was eight and from then on I just kept going. In more recent times, I have tried to write four 80,000+ words novels. My best one was actually the first where I wrote half a first draft. Then I had another idea and started writing that one. That just keeps happening. I have a fifth in mind. But, believe it or not, I’m going back to the third one.

I have been thinking about it and planning every single little detail. And I think I’m ready. No, not to run an Olympic race (yeah, I totally just made it sound like that).

So, my question for you, lovely followers, is a) do you write and b) have you every tried writing a novel? Advice would be appreciated πŸ™‚

OliviaBookcometSignature

9 thoughts on “Writing

  1. I love to do creative writing! Unfortunately, my busy schedule doesn’t allow me to write as freely as I want to. I am trying to a novel, but recently I had to start from scratch again because my plot line sounded too identical to another novel I read.

  2. Shaunna says:

    I have actually written several novels over the years, but the publishing industry seems incredibly hard to break into. I have recently considered publishing them as an e-book, but, unfortunately, am hitting a wall when it comes to a great cover. I notice that my whole life seems more grounded when I give myself permission to write (as busy as life gets). Your post was a great reminder to me! Thanks!

    • Livvvy75 says:

      That’s okay! Several novels? Wow – well done! There’s this author – Erica Crouch – and she is fantastic at designing covers and apparently they’re quite affordable. There was a post over at Books For A Delicate Eternity about her πŸ™‚ you could always investigate that? Good luck with your books!

      • Shaunna says:

        Thanks! I will check it out! And, whether or not I ever get published, I have realized that the actual act of being able to sustain writing a story for the length of a novel is a pretty rewarding feat. Good luck with your writing!

  3. I am one of those people who don’t write so can’t help you. Sorry. πŸ˜› I’m just not confident enough with my skills. Lol
    But good luck on your writing. What I often hear people say is just keep on writing. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

