Counting the Stars (38#)

counting the stars

 Counting the Stars is a meme hosted here at Bookcomet! This meme allows you to display what books you have gained in the last week! Feel free to join.

The rules:

•Post a sticker – whether it be mine or your own (provided it has Counting the Stars on it).
•Either a) leave a link to your post in the comments below or b) tell me your answers in the comments – either is fine!
•Try to post titles under at least a few of the catergories below.

Books I bought:

It’s very unlikely that you remember, but last week I mentioned that a genuinely cheap Australian book store was re-opening. That never happened. I’m one of those people was too excited for it and they had a little countdown on their home page going. It got to the end of the count down and nothing happened. That meant an “oh.” moment followed. But there is another countdown saying it will be reopening the online store on the 28th so let’s hope!

Four books that I ordered from Harlequin Australia came and two of them haven’t had the best of reviews but I thought they sounded good. There is one sequel there, but I don’t have the first book. I love Julie Kagawa and I loved the series it’s a spinoff of, so I couldn’t resist. They had a buy two get one free deal so I picked up the Aussie edition of Crash into You to match my other editions, even though I one the US hardback from Julie Kagawa.

  • Countdown by Michelle RowenCountdown
  • Waterfell by Amalie HowardWaterfell (The Aquarathi, #1)
  • The Iron Traitor by Julie KagawaThe Iron Traitor (The Iron Fey: Call of the Forgotten, #2)
  • Crash into You by Katie McGarryCrash into You (Pushing the Limits, #3)

Gifted:

Won:

For review:

My goodness. I just realised I got no review books. A round of applause for my restraint please.

Read:

Something must have happened to upset my reading. I just couldn’t be bothered!

  • The Witches Brew by Heidi R. KlingWitch's Brew (The Spellspinners of Melas County, #1)
  • Scent of Magic by Maria V. SnyderScent of Magic (Healer, #2)
  • The Wobbit by The Harvard LampoonThe Wobbit: A Parody
  • Alice in Zombieland by Gena ShowalterAlice in Zombieland (The White Rabbit Chronicles, #1)

To be read:

It’s the last week of January this year and in February for the Jumble Your Genres Reading Challenge, the genre is contemporary, so I’ll be concentrating mostly on that. January’s genre was YA by the way, so that was pretty easy. I’m pretty sure Saturday is the first day of Feb, so I’ll include two contemporary books. I’m hoping to get to:

  • Teardrop by Lauren KateTeardrop (Teardrop, #1)
  • The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly BlackThe Coldest Girl in Coldtown
  • The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (finally)The Fault in Our Stars
  • How I got Skinny, Famous and Fell madly in love by Ken BakerHow I Got Skinny, Famous, and Fell Madly in Love
  • Running on Empty by Colette BallardRunning on Empty
  • Entice by Erica CrouchEntice (Ignite, #1.5)

Currently reading:

  • City of Bones by Cassandra Clare (reread)City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments, #1)
27 thoughts on “Counting the Stars (38#)

  1. jenspenden says:

    I just finished reading The Coldest Girl in Coldtown. I liked it! Different, entertaining and, yes, disturbing. But, hey, it’s a book about vampires. Disturbing comes with the territory, haha.

  2. Melanie (YA Midnight Reads) says:

    I hope you enjoy Crash Into You! I wasn’t a huge fan of it, I thought the prev books were better but I guess I was a bit of a black sheep.

    Brilliant review! <33

  3. You bought some really good books. 😀 I’ve read Countdown and loved it. Waterfell was pretty great too. And I’ve heard good things about Julie Kagawa and Katie McGarry.

    How was Witch’s Brew? I have a copy but have yet to read it. XD And Alice in Zombieland! I wish get a copy of that one soon. I love Alice in Wonderland adaptations.

    I shall join you with reading The Fault in Our Stars and The Coldest Girl in Coldtown. Hopefully that is. Not sure if I could get to them. 😛 TFiOS is actually a re-read because I strangely felt like crying this week. Hahaha!

Leave a Reply

