Bang Review

Just a quick note, sorry the format of this review is different but I have to do this from my phone 🙂

Bang by Lisa McMann

Goodreads synopsis:
Jules should be happy. She saved a lot of people’s lives and she’s finally with Sawyer, pretty much the guy of her dreams. But the nightmare’s not over, because she somehow managed to pass the psycho vision stuff to Sawyer. Excellent.

Feeling responsible for what he’s going through and knowing that people’s lives are at stake, Jules is determined to help him figure it all out. But Sawyer’s vision is so awful he can barely describe it, much less make sense of it. All he can tell her is there’s a gun, and eleven ear-splitting shots. Bang.

Jules and Sawyer have to work out the details fast, because the visions are getting worse and that means only one thing: time is running out. But every clue they see takes them down the wrong path. If they can’t prevent the vision from happening, lives will be lost. And they may be among the casualties…

—-

Review:
To be honest, I was a little disappointed in Bang. I gave the first book, Crash, a glowing review of 5 stars and even went as far as saying that it was the perfect review to cure a reading slump.

Since I’m a lot better at getting my issues with a book out the way first, here goes:

My biggest issue was with the romance. Eurgh. I was expecting way more in that area. Jules barely even communicated with Sawyer in the first half of the book. Even then, they never said anything relationaship-y. They just spoke the bare minimum about Sawyer’s vision. That kind of annoyed me a little bit because I loved how in Crash they almost had a Romeo and Juliet thing going on with the families. Then suddenly they were all over each other without warning.

I felt like the majority of the book was filler because nothing major to with the vision happened for ages. Another thing that annoyed me was some of the things Jules said. Oh my dogs was one of them and dot com was another. They were ok the first time they were used but I didn’t even understand the second time dot com was used (it’s probably really obvious though).

*Takes a big deep breath* Ok, so that’s out the way.

I DID like the action part when it happened though, I thought it was exciting and that Lisa McMann handled it very well. Definitely not an anticlimax like I was getting a little worried it might be. Yeah, that bit was pretty cool!

I love Trey and Rowan! They were such great characters and I love both of them! I also love Sawyer and Jules and their relationship got way better as the book progressed.

I do like how the writing is very modern-esque because most of the books I read have very flowery (if you get what I mean) or futuristic writing. So, that made a nice change!

This is a great series for anyone looking for quick reads with impact.

3 comets – The Earth shook. If they thought the Leaning Tower of Pisa was leaning before…

Add to Goodreads

—-

Goodreads author bio:

20140120-204558.jpgLisa McMann lives and writes in the Phoenix area. Her books include the NYT bestselling paranormal WAKE trilogy, CRYER’S CROSS, DEAD TO YOU, and the dystopian fantasy series beginning with THE UNWANTEDS. (Book 2, Unwanteds: ISLAND OF SILENCE, comes out Sept 4, 2012).

You can find more info at Lisa’a website, lisamcmann.com, interact with her on Facebook or Twitter, or ask questions and find answers on her VYou.com page.

2 thoughts on “Bang Review

  1. I read the first line, and I was like “NOOOOO!” Like you, I also gave a glowing review for Crash, and I’ve been pretty exited to read Bang. Now I’m afraid. Look what you’ve done! I’m not reading the rest of your review until I read Bang. XD

Leave a Reply

