Babbling with Bookcomet (4#)

And I still don’t have a button for this. Oh well, if you want to participate, please just link back to me so other can join!

Are trilogies over?

I have seen people talk about trilogies before but my question is whether people are sick of them. If you have been on the internet a lot lately, you might have noticed or come across some articles  saying that trilogies are over. I remember seeing something that said publishing companies/agents are looking for series at the moment. I have a feeling that may be true.

sigh

I think you are in the book world influences your opinion on trilogies. Here are some ideas in the way that those people may be influenced:

– People in marketing:

They want something fresh. How many recent series’ are trilogies? The answer: a lot. Think about some really popular recent book series’:

  • The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins
  • The Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth
  • The Chemical Garden trilogy by Lauren DeStefano
  • The Delirium trilogy by Lauren Oliver
  • The Matched trilogy by Ally Condie
  • The New Soul trilogy by Jodi Meadows

And so on.

If I’m starting a new series, I immediately make the assumption it’s a trilogy.

The Buyer:

This one can be even on both sides. Personally, I try and refrain from buying standalones. For some reason, I seem to feel I am not getting the most value for money because I am less likely to reread it because a sequel is coming out etc., and I don’t get to invest myself in the story for as long as I would a series. Plus, I think a trilogy is a nice length.

nodding animals

But then there is the other idea money-wise. Have you seen those series’ that always seem to have sequels coming out? *cough, cough, House of Night, cough, Vampire Academy/Bloodlines* I don’t think many people would like to spend possibly over $100 on a series. Unless you love the series that much. Or maybe you’re like me and just buy the series and never read it.

The Reader:

a) I like trilogies a lot. My ideal trilogy: you have the first book which is stunning and leaves you really excited for a sequel, then you have the second book which is consistent and keeps you hooked and of course finishes on a major cliffhanger you never saw coming, and finally, the third book which is full of action and conflict over the cliffhanger. This doesn’t always happen. *cough, second book syndrome, cough, horrible conclusion*

I probably ought to look at getting that cough fixed.

Coughing Fit

b) They give you just the right amount of time to know the characters and the world. And there is less likely (but probably going to happen anyway just to frustrate us) to be cover changes half way through the series.

So, in answer to my question, are trilogies over, I am going to have to modify that a bit.

The question I can answer: Are trilogies dead to me?

The answer: No. I love trilogies. Sure, I will always be like “Ooh, the Pushing the Limits series is four books long? Cool!” or “The Blood of Eden series is a dualogy? Also cool!” , but trilogies will probably always be my favourite.

The question I can’t really answer: Are trilogies dead to everyone else?

The sort of answer: It depends. People love ’em or hate ’em. It’s up to their preferences and their position.

What do you think?

 

 

*I do not claim ownership of the gifs used in this post. Find them at Gifsoup!

5 thoughts on “Babbling with Bookcomet (4#)

  1. I think that, in fact, there are too many trilogies. Sometimes it’s hard to read all of them. I have a lot of first books but I haven’t been able to catch up with the rest of them. I’d still read them if I have the time or money to get copies, but there are quite a few trilogies that I prioritize over a lot of the others I own.

  2. I’m kind of on both sides. I honestly don’t read too many trilogies often. But sometimes, I feel authors have to cram a bunch of material that might be better spread out into series rather than being put into three books. The last book can feel thrown together, and for me “Mockingjay”, was not the best ending to the Hunger Games, for example. So many unnecessary things went on in that book. anyway, I tend to gear more towards series. But I do feel there is an overabundance in trilogies being released lately. I don’t mind spending a lot of money on a long series as long as I’m getting my money’s worth and material is strong throughout each book.

    • livvvy75 says:

      I totally agree with you about Mockingjay – it could have been done SO much better. I was so disappointed because I had been waiting months for it to come out. I am a little sick of trilogies, in fact I’m starting to just borrow the second book if I’m not a fan of the first book. I just wish there was a bit more diversity, even if I do like trilogies. I’m actually glad not every trilogy is like my ideal trilogy because that would get pretty boring.

Leave a Reply

