Babbling with Bookcomet (2#) The Reading Slump

This week I’m talking about…

The dreaded “reading slump”.

I know I have talked about it before but this is an issue I’m really having problems with this week.

I don’t really know what happened but last week I was going great I read five books and I was feeling great and pretty proud of myself for making time to read. I read three books within the first three days of the week and was making estimates at how many books I could read by the end of the year if I kept going at this pace and that perhaps I’m going to do a little better at my next readathon…

Ok, maybe I was getting a little ahead of myself.

So I finished the fifth book for the week, did my Counting the Stars post and then prepared to read the next book and…

I just couldn’t get into it.

Why, you ask?

I have no idea

I mean, it was a good book, I enjoyed it and the faults were minimal. It wasn’t even a particularly long book.

So I finished it and thought, hey, I’m sure the next book will be good. I was talking about Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness. It’s the final book in the Chaos Walking trilogy (soon to be a movie) and I love reading the last books  in series (usually). So I picked it up, flicked through it and…

…discovered it’s 600 pages.

Ok, so perhaps I shouldn’t have gone for a longer book but I didn’t realise just how long it is. 600 pages isn’t too bad but it’s definitely not something I would fly through. I just kind of deflate when I reach 300 pages and am like: oh, I’m halfway through, when usually I’m like: oh, I’m nearly finished.

It’s good so far, I’m around 250 pages in but I seem automatically think that a book will take forever to read when it’s over 500 pages. And it doesn’t usually.

The reading slump doesn’t just effect me in terms of reading. You may have noticed my blog posts this week have been a little sparse. However, I can’t pin the lack of posts down on just my reading slump though. There’s also the fact that I am organising a special event for December that is very time consuming. But oh well, hopefully it will turn out well.

So, what am I doing to beat this reading slump?

First of all I asked myself the question, “How did I get into this reading slump?”.

And again I got the same answer, “I don’t know.”

So I guess it’s back to my tried and true methods:

  1. Reading a shorter book I am excited for (not a review book)
  2. Not reviewing the book unless I REALLY want too (hence why not a review book)
  3. Setting more time aside to read
  4. More talking about books
  5. Getting some books I really want to read out from the library

So guys, if you want to join in the discussion next week, do so. Or even this week. Just leave a link to here so that others can find me and participate. I said this last week but hopefully a button for this meme will come soon.

2 thoughts on “Babbling with Bookcomet (2#) The Reading Slump

  1. Gayatri says:

    OMG ! I too have been in a reading slump since two months now ! I was hardly able to read like three books in that time period! Total Disaster !! Anyways I too am taking some steps to get out of it. Right now I am reading ‘Dead Ever After’ by Charlaine Harris which I was excited about six months ago but couldn’t get the time to read it !! Awesome post !!

    • livvvy75 says:

      I hope you get out of the reading slump soon! I’m still not out of mine but I have LOADS of books coming up that I am really excited for. Have you read (do you read) any dystopian books lately? They can be good for breaking reading slumps (provided you haven’t read too many!).

Leave a Reply

