Breathe by Sarah Crossan, Top Ten Tuesday (1#), Teaser Tuesday

Breathe by Sarah Crossan

Breathe (Breathe, #1)

Publication date: October 2nd 2012

Publisher: Greenwillow

Number of pages: 384

Series: Breathe (1#)

Source: Bought/Gifted (bought with giftcard)

Date finished: 30th September

——————————————————————–

 Goodreads synopsis:

The world has no air. If you want to survive, you pay to breathe. But what if you can’t? And what if you think everything could be different? Three teens will leave everything they know behind in Sarah Crossan’s gripping and original dystopian teen novel of danger, longing, and glimmering hope that will appeal to fans of Patrick Ness and Veronica Roth.

Ever since the Switch, when the oxygen levels plummeted and most of humanity died, the survivors have been protected in glass domes full of manufactured air. Protected . . . or trapped? Or controlled? Alina’s a revolutionary who believes we can save the environment. Quinn’s a Premium who’s never had to worry about having enough air. His best friend, Bea, is an Auxiliary who’s never worried about anything but having enough air. When the three cross paths, they will change everything. Sarah Crossan’s thrilling and provocative novel is about passion, about yearning for something better, and about breaking free for the very first time.

——————————————————————–

  Review:

I have read dystopian books galore, so you can imagine (or not if you read as many dystopian books as I do) it is pretty rare to come across anything different. To be honest, I wasn’t expecting as much as I found that set Breathe apart from others. I got so, so much more than I bargained for.

Breathe isn’t just a book about there being no air. But there are a lot more elements to the story than that:
– There’s the fact nobody can breathe without oxygen tanks/being in a pod.
– There’s the whole civil dispute thing going on.
– I don’t want to give away any spoilers but the goings on/behind the scenes actions action of the government are things I haven’t considered.
– The back story to how the world got to the stage it is in Breathe is very interesting.

A couple of unexpected revelations (especially toward the end) kinda left me like “huh?”. Out of the blue came these sudden surprises would just hit me. The ending of the book was really good. I couldn’t stop reading. The action was pretty consisted the whole was through though.

I have never really been a fan of books with different characters narrating different chapters. I find I just get too confused and lose track of whose point of view I’m reading. I had that problem with Breathe due to the confusion over points of view and that I wasn’t as keen on Quinn’s and Alina’s point of view as I was Bea’s. The only bit of Alina’s point of view that I liked was the very beginning because it kind of helped to explain the other side of the civil war and what was going on. Quinn’s point of view was something I didn’t see much point in having – even though I like him as a character. I consistently enjoyed reading Bea’s section though.

I don’t think there are many people who can walk past a cover like Breathe’s that can’t help but stop to admire it. The cover in it’s self is so unique and cool – it would pull my attention from the other side of a massive bookshop.

Yes, I would recommend Breathe but there are definitely groups of people who wouldn’t take to it. If you are only into contemporary – chicklit sort of books, then don’t expect to fall in love with Breathe. You may love it anyway (as a change) but chances are that there is a reason you only read chicklit. However, if you live and Breathe dystopian books, then odds are you will probably like this. A good novel to compare Breathe to, would be Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi – one of my favourite books.

A breathtaking (get it?) read.

4/5 stars!

Add Breathe to Goodreads

——————————————————————–

  Goodreads author bio:

Sarah CrossanSarah Crossan is Irish. She graduated with a degree in Philosophy and Literature before training as an English and Drama teacher at Cambridge University and worked to promote creative writing in schools before leaving teaching to write full time.

She completed her Masters in Creative Writing at the University of Warwick in 2003 and in 2010 received an Edward Albee Fellowship for writing.

She currently lives in NYC.

——————————————————————–

This is my first week participating! The topic is: best books we were forced to read. This is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish (click HERE to join up). These aren’t in order.

Top ten best books I have been forced to read:

1. The Harry Potter series by J. K. RowlingHarry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)

Yes. I was forced to read this. And ended up loving it.

2. Evernight by Claudia GrayEvernight (Evernight, #1)

3. I am Number Four by Pittacus LoreI Am Number Four (Lorien Legacies, #1)

4. Insurgent by Veronica RothInsurgent (Divergent, #2)

5. Uglies by Scott WesterfeldUglies (Uglies, #1)

6. Hush, Hush by Becca FitzpatrickHush, Hush (Hush, Hush, #1)

7. Extras by Scott WesterfeldExtras (Uglies, #4)

8. City of Bones by Cassandra ClareCity of Bones (The Mortal Instruments, #1)

9. Just Listen by Sarah DessenJust Listen

10. Gone by Michael GrantGone (Gone, #1)

——————————————————————–

teaser tuesdays

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at Should Be Reading (click HERE to visit their website)! You open to a random page and share a little teaser.

My teaser is from The Waves by Jen Minkman

The Waves (The Island, #2)

Goodreads synopsis:

The first memory I have of my grandfather is of a moment that we share together.
I’m sitting on his knee looking out over the harbor. Grandpa is smoking a pipe. He points at the horizon. “Look, Walt. Our ships are out there. And one day, another even more beautiful ship will appear at the horizon. A mighty ship to take us all away. And Annabelle will be at the front deck with open arms, inviting us all to join her on board.”
“Why don’t we sail to her ourselves?” I want to know.
“Because she promised she would come,” granddad replies. “And in that promise we trust. It’s only the Unbelievers who think they can do everything themselves. They have no faith in the Goddess.”

Walt lives in Hope Harbor, an island community that has put its trust in salvation from across the sea. The townspeople wait patiently, build their ships to sail out and welcome the Goddess, and piously visit the temple every week. Horror stories to scare their children are told about the Unbelievers on the other side of Tresco.
But not all is what it seems. Walt has questions that no one can answer, and when his best friend and cousin Yorrick is killed in an accident, he digs deeper to find out the truth about the origins of Hope Harbor’s society… and the secrets of the temple.

Return to the world of The Island and discover what Walt’s life was like before and after he met Leia!

Teaser:

“I’m just as old as I am now, but somehow holding her hand like a little kid as we walk down the street together. I feel young, small and afraid. The streets are abound with people holding torches, trying to scare away the darkness.”

Advertisements

9 thoughts on “Breathe by Sarah Crossan, Top Ten Tuesday (1#), Teaser Tuesday

  1. Amy M. says:

    Harry Potter was totally on my list as well. I actually didn’t finish the series because someone totally ruined the 6th book for me. Regardless though, it was totally one of those books I wasn’t going to read but ended up being “forced” to read. I’m kind of shocked by how many times I’ve seen Harry Potter on other blogger’s lists.

    • livvvy75 says:

      You should continue with it again! The seventh book and the eighth book are two of my favourites. I found that the first five books were still amazing even after I watched the movies (the sixth movie hadn’t come out when I read the books), so you will probably enjoy it still. I know – I couldn’t believe how many people were “forced” to read it!

  2. Gorgeous cover! I’d love to enter this world and learn more about it.
    My Teaser today is from KEEPSAKE.

    • livvvy75 says:

      I know! I love it! The first book has a fantastic cover as well. It’s a really cool world, that’s what I was actually thinking as I read it yesterday. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Keri B. says:

    “Breathe” sounds interesting; I love dystopian novels too. Here’s my first Teaser Tuesday

    • livvvy75 says:

      Then you definitely check it out. Breathe is perfect for dystopian readers. I think it’s quite heavily (if you know what I mean) a dystopian book, so it’s definitely something I would recommend to dystopian readers.

  4. comehometobooks says:

    Welcome to TTT! It’s such a fun meme. You’ve got some great books on your list. I chose HP, too, because it’s what got me into reading children/teen books even though I’m an adult. Great list!

  5. comehometobooks says:

    Here’s a link to my TTT, if you care to check it out: http://www.blogginboutbooks.com/2013/10/top-ten-tuesday-some-forceful-reading.html

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s