Slumber Blog Tour + Giveaway!

slumber banner

 I am super excited to be a part of this tour! For my stop, I am resharing my review of Slumber and hosting a giveaway!

 
Slumber by Tamara Blake

Slumber (Medium)

Publication date:

Publisher: Diversion Books – http://www.diversionbooks.com/ebooks/slumber

Number of pages: 192

Series: ?

Source: From the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Copy from Netgalley.

Synopsis:

Once upon a time, Ruby believed in magic…

When Ruby volunteers to take her mother’s housecleaning shift at the gothic Cottingley Heights mansion, she thinks it’s going to be business as usual. Clean out the fridge, scrub toilets, nothing too unusual. But nothing could prepare her for the decadent squalor she finds within. Rich people with more money than sense trashing their beautiful clothes and home just because they can. After the handsome Tam discovers her cleaning up after him and his rich friends, Ruby has never felt more like a character from her sister’s book of fairy tales.

Tam sees beyond Ruby’s job and ratty clothes, and sweeps her off her feet, treating her like a real princess, but Ruby is sure this beautiful boy is too good to be true. And as one tragedy after another befalls Ruby and her family, Ruby painfully learns that magic is all too real, and it always comes with a price.

Review:

Once upon a time, there was a very tired and exhausted reviewer, who had spent all day trying to get into the book she was reading. She wiped her brow and decided to take a look at her tbr pile which to her frustration, seemed to go on forever. Oh she sighed. How was she supposed to know what to read? Then – all of a sudden – a fairy godmother appeared! Reviewerella! She cried! Here’s what to read! Then, a picture of Slumber came to her mind in a vision!

Ok, so that may not be entirely true but hopefully you get the idea. A major reading slump rescued by a fantastic book. Fantastic you say? Fantastic how? Well, I loved the idea of the book. The first time I have EVER read a book about a girl poor to that level. I was pretty much hooked from the moment that I learnt that. Then – to top it all off – she was a cleaner too!

The characters were genuinely pretty great. We have a down to earth girl with a brain and her super duper cute little little sister. Now, when I say Shelley is cute, I MEAN cute. Then there’s Tam. The whole story I was kind of not sure whether to trust him and totally shared the main character Ruby’s opinion of him. But of course there was a creepy villain (who goes by the name of Violet). Tamara Blake pulled her off so well, Violet was creepy and fitted in with the story perfectly. However, Ruby did really start to annoy me, there is only so many times she can say how poor she is. At one stage it felt like it was every other sentence that mentioned how poor she was. Such great characters lead to some pretty emotional moments that were both heartbreaking and happy.

I was very surprised at what Tam, Violet and all the others at the house where Ruby was employed to clean really were. Having not read the synopsis in a LONG time I had completely forgotten some parts of it that really would have made it obvious. I almost recommend not refreshing your memory because sometimes that can improve how much you enjoy the story and this was one of those times. The twist at the end was pretty good and I really enjoyed it.

This quote really stuck out to me:

“You’ll be beautiful, rich and young forever. And…you can be with me” – Tam (55%)

I really enjoyed Slumber and greatly anticipate reading more about Ruby. I would recommend Slumber to people who are looking for a book that’s a little different and enjoyable.

four_stars

Add Slumber to Goodreads 

Author bio:

Kathleen Bolton is a professional writer and editor. Currently, she is a contracted writer to Working Partners, Ltd. Her projects include Confessions of a First Daughter, a YA series about the misadventures of the U.S. President’s teen-aged daughter, and Secrets of a First Daughter, both published by HarperCollins Teen, under the pen name Cassidy Calloway. Her current project, Slumber, under the pen name Tamara Blake, released July of 2013 and is a dark suspense fantasy novel for teens. She is the co-founder of Writer Unboxed, one of the foremost online communities for writers of fiction.

Kathleen lives with her husband and daughter in upstate New York. Visit her AuthorTracker webpage at HarperCollins Publishing, or Goodreads for more.

 


GIVEAWAY!

Enter to win your own copy of Slumber! Open internationally! The copy will be in either ePub or Mobi format. To enter, please use the Rafflecopter form below. No cheating – cheaters will be disqualified! The winner has 48 hours to respond to the email I will send, please check your junk folder!

 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

5 thoughts on “Slumber Blog Tour + Giveaway!

  1. I keep seeing the cover of this book everywhere! And I’m glad to hear that the storyline lives up to it 😀
    It’s kind of annoying when characters harp on about their disadvantages, so I can see why you didn’t like that aspect.
    I love good characters, so I think this book sounds like my kind of story!

  2. Denise Z says:

    I am definitely intrigued. Thank you for sharing your review with us and making me smile 🙂

Leave a Reply

