Sia by Josh Grayson

Sia by Josh Grayson

Sia

Publication date: November 20th 2013 (expected publication)

Number of pages: About 350 (at a complete guess)

Series: N/A

Source: For review via Netgalley in exchange for my honest opinion

Goodreads synopsis:

When seventeen-year-old Sia wakes up on a park bench, she has no idea who or where she is. Yet after a week of being homeless, she’s reunited with her family. At school, she’s powerful and popular. At home, she’s wealthy beyond her dreams. But she quickly realizes her perfect life is a lie. Her family is falling apart and her friends are snobby, cruel and plastic. Worse yet, she discovers she was the cruelest one. Mortified by her past, she embarks on a journey of redemption and falls for Kyle, the “geek” she once tormented. Yet all the time she wonders if, when her memories return, she’ll become the bully she was before…and if she’ll lose Kyle.

Review:

Sia was really great. Those two words come to mind shortly after the book does. Really great.

In most YA books I read the storyline is pretty much the same when it concerns a popular girl and a nice girl. Nice, nerdy girl turns popular like she has always dreamed and likes it, something bad happens usually concerning mean ‘friends’ or someone else popular, she stops liking it and then goes back to being a nerd. If you asked me books and movies along those lines, I don’t think I could ever stop. But Sia is kind of the opposite: popular girl gone…good. That’s it and it really works. I’m not saying I haven’t seen popular girl gone good books before, ’cause I have. But like 90% of those times were because something happened between the popular people to make the popular girl get rejected by them or strongly dislike them. Luckily, Sia is different.

Sia lost her memory due to a condition that she gained, prior to the book beginning. I have seen memory loss in books done like dozens of times but never like this. Sia lost hers due to a condition, which I thought to be extremely interesting. If I wasn’t already immeresed in the story by the time it got to the point where the doctor shared with us what her condition was, I definitely was after that.

I would be lying if I said the cover wasn’t one of the things that attracted me to Sia. That would be a really big lie as a matter of fact. I think that those pretty colours with the pale complexion of the girl go extremely well. Especially with such a different title like Sia. Hats off to ever designed and/or decided on the cover. When I read the synopsis, I was sold.

I loved the parts of the story where Sia was collecting money for charity – paticularly the red carpet scene. So cool. The characters were pretty much as cool as that scene. And I mean cool. They were typical and interesting.

I can’t quite give this book the full five stars because I found it to be a little on the predictable side. There was nothing that particularly surprised me and no twists. I did like the ending though, I definitely wasn’t expecting to find out about the characters’ adult lives. So that was pretty interesting. The bad thing about that is that I guess there is no sequel.

Anybody who likes contemporary novels and doesn’t mind/quite likes books where the main character has lost their memory will probably like or even love Sia. I would definitely recommend this to teens and up.

A beautiful story where the popular girl goes good and stays good.

4.5/5 stars

Goodreads author bio:

Josh GraysonJosh Grayson was born in Mexico, raised in Massachusetts, and now lives in Martinsville, Virginia. It was his move to the South that stirred his imagination and gave him the courage to start writing. When he’s not writing, Josh spends his time reading, jogging, swimming, and watching YouTube videos.

Josh currently works as a medical driver, shuttling people all over Virginia and North Carolina. He has also worked as a machinist, film sales rep, admin. assistant, and telemarketer (he apologizes if he called you).

Sia is his debut YA novel.

 

———-

 

arc_august

Status:

Arcs read – 9

Total pages – 2746

Just finished – Sia

Currently reading – Silent Echo: A Siren's Tale

Up next – Present Company

3 thoughts on “Sia by Josh Grayson

  1. Okay, wow. I really want to get my hands on a copy of this novel now! it sounds so interesting, and I have a bit of a weakness when it comes to stories about memory loss. I even tried my hand at writing one once. Haha.
    And yes, you’re right. That cover is beautiful, and it immediately makes me want to own a copy, so that I can look at it whenever I want.
    This was a really awesome review 😀

Leave a Reply

