Defiance by C. J. Redwine

What’s this you ask? Two five star review of books finished on the same day? These two MUST be special. Well, they are. Yesterday, I posted the first one (All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill) and then finished Defiance very late the same day. So here’s my review:

Defiance by C. J. Redwine

Defiance (Defiance, #1)

Publication date: August 28th 2012

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Number of pages: 403

Series: Defiance (1#)

Source: Borrowed

synopsis

While the other girls in the walled city-state of Baalboden learn to sew and dance, Rachel Adams learns to track and hunt. While they bend like reeds to the will of their male Protectors, she uses hers for sparring practice.

When Rachel’s father fails to return from a courier mission and is declared dead, the city’s brutal Commander assigns Rachel a new Protector: her father’s apprentice, Logan—the boy she declared her love to and who turned her down two years before. Left with nothing but fierce belief in her father’s survival, Rachel decides to escape and find him herself.

As Rachel and Logan battle their way through the Wasteland, stalked by a monster that can’t be killed and an army of assassins out for blood, they discover romance, heartbreak, and a truth that will incite a war decades in the making.

Review

WHY didn’t I read this sooner???? No, here is a better question: WHY did it take me so long to get into the story?
Here’s the answer: I have pretty much no idea. Hence the five star rating.

I loved the characters, in fact I was amazed at how much I liked both sides of the dual point of view. The only reason I groaned when I saw the next chapter was from the other character’s point of view was because I didn’t want that bit to end. Rachael was such a great protagonist because she was brave and strong and….believable. There are quite a few books out there with strong heroines like her but some of them literally have the emotional extent as a wall. But Rachael? No, she actually thought and had feelings.

At first I wasn’t sold on the idea of the story. I was kind of thinking along the lines of (this is after reading the synopsis) how can C. J. Redwine draw this out into 400 pages? But she managed extraordinarily well, producing a fast pace novel with a great plot and fantastic characters.

I found this to be fairly unpredictable. You’d think something, it would leave your mind under the thought that it would just be too cruel or good, then it would happen. Out of nowhere. Just like that *snaps fingers*.

Would I recommend this? Um, yes! To teens and above! Will I be reading the sequel? YES!!!!

five_stars

Add Defiance to Goodreads

author

C.J. RedwineC.J. Redwine loves stilettos, lemon bars, any movie starring Johnny Depp, and books. C.J. holds a degree in English Literature from Pepperdine University and now lives in Nashville, Tennessee with her husband, four kids, two spastic cats, and one long-suffering dog. For more on C.J., please visit her website at http://cjredwine.blogspot.com.

 
2 thoughts on “Defiance by C. J. Redwine

  1. winterof62 says:

    I loved Defiance, too!!! It was such a well-rounded book, especially for being a debut. Loved it!!! And I also love finding other people who have mutual book love with me! Yay! Love your blog!!

Leave a Reply

