Reviews: The Perpetual Motion Club by Sue Lange and Water by Natasha Hardy

The Perpetual Motion Club by Sue Lange

The Perpetual Motion Club

Publication date: August 15th 2013

Publisher: Perpetual Motion Machine Publishing

Number of pages: 207

Series: N/A

Source: From the publisher via Netgalley

synopsis

Welcome to the high school of the future. The glee club is full of rock stars, the brainy kids hack permanent records, and the basketball players are as conceited as the cheerleaders. The walls are ablaze with six-foot-high logos of the hottest junk food, software, and clothing brands of the day. The popular kids are sponsored by Abercrombie, Microsoft, and Frito-Lay. You, on the other hand, can’t even get a return text from Clearasil. Your best friend is a witch, your boyfriend a twerp. Your geometry teacher hates you and your mom is gleefully counting down the days until graduation. Guess it’s time for another hit of iHigh.

Review

This was a seriously interesting book. I can honestly say that The Perpetual Motion Club inspired me to find out what perpetual motion is. I had heard the phrase before but I found that I wasn’t getting much out of the book without knowing what on earth it was. It’s pretty cool. If you read this, make sure to research what it is because knowing definitely enhanced the story.

If you like great science fiction, The Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld and want a light, fun read, then this would definitely be a book you would enjoy. It kind of reminded me of Uglies in the writing and prospects of new cool futuristic technology. This probably isn’t for you if sci-fi doesn’t appeal to you.

Unfortunately I didn’t really connect with the protagonist Elsa. I thought the way she acted was sometimes irritating but other times understandable. The other issue I had with the characters was Jason. Why couldn’t Elsa see past him?! I absolutely hated him from the moment he said ‘sure’ to Elsa. However, my opinion had a brief change when he was ‘humbled’ because he was nice and actually quite likeable. Then things went in the wrong direction and he became too arrogant again. I dislike the way that his actions went back to the way they were because I felt like any progress and growth he had made as a character completely vanished when he had come a fair way. The other problem I had was that I became a little bit disinterested around 40% because I didn’t feel as though much happened. However, my interest was soon regained and I easily picked the story back up again.

This was a very interesting read and I really enjoyed reading it. I think I probably would have liked it more if I had known what perpetual motion was from the start and had more of an interest in sci-fi.

Three_starshalf

Add The_Perpetual_Motion_Club to Goodreads

author

Sue LangeI’m the author of Tritcheon Hash, We, Robots, Uncategorized, and The Textile Planet. My writing is satiric in nature, science

fiction in genre.

 

———-

 

Water by Natasha Hardy

Water

Publication date: August 16th 2013

Publisher: Carina (Harlequin UK)

Number of pages: 273

Series: ?

Source: From the publisher via Netgalley

synopsis

Surrender to the power of the water… Alex knows she is different. She’s plagued by nightmares that feel shockingly real and an intense restlessness she cannot explain. As the long hot summer holidays stretch before her, Alex seeks out adventure in the rugged mountains of Injasuthi. But during a camping trip to the mystic jade pools, Alex meets Merrick, a boy who tells her the shocking truth about herself, and Alex’s nightmare is about to become reality. Because Alex is no ordinary teenager…she is a half-mermaid and her adventures are only just beginning.

Review

It took me a LONG time to know what to rate this book. I kept thinking this wasn’t so good so maybe I should drop the rating…or, that was fantastic, I should definitely raise it…So, as you can see, I settled on 3.5/5 and I’m fairly confident in that.

First off, mermaids are probably my favourite paranormal creature to read about. So my expectations were pretty high. But were they met? Almost, so close too. The story was pretty good, it introduced some new ideas but not anything particularly outstanding. But I was very happy with the way Natasha Hardy described them, she did it to my ideal image of a mermaid which I really liked.

I really liked the characters, especially the main character Alex. I thought she made a great leader and the way she acts and responds to things in the story was understandable and I just liked her as a character. Hardy’s descriptions were fantastic, which kept my interest in the story and made it easy to visualise. Whenever a description came up about how the characters were dressed, I knew what they looked like and had a bit of fun imagining it. This was also great interns of characters because Alex and Merrick (especially) were easy to visualise.

The other thing that stood out to me was the setting. I don’t think I have ever read a book before that was set in Africa, so I thought that was pretty cool. The made pools stuck with me through out the story because I just think that they are just so cool. Once again, this is helped into being possible by the amazing descriptive writing.

However, one of the problems I had with the story included the pacing. I like books I read to be paced a lot faster because I find the my interest seems to gradually slip away. The other thing that bugged me was that I thought some aspects were too unrealistic and predictable. Like, for instance, when Alex first tries to give an inspiring talk, nobody likes it. But when she says it a little differently, suddenly everybody loves it. Even those who were completely against it.

So as mentioned before, my final rating is 3.5/5 stars. I will be continuing with the series and would recommend it if you like mermaid stories.

Three_starshalf

 Add Water to Goodreads

quotes

“There is strength in unity” – Llyr (96%)

 

———-

 

arc_august

Day 6! I think I have caught up a little…

Status:

Arcs finished: 4 = (End Dayz, The Weight of Souls, The Perpetual Motion Club, Water)

Total pages: 866

Just finished: Water

Next up: All Our Yesterdays

Leave a Reply

