The Weight of Souls by Bryony Pearce and Arc August Day 3#

The Weight of Souls by Bryony Pearce

The Weight of Souls

 

Publisher: Strange Chemistry

Number of pages: 350

Series: ? (not sure – hope so!)

Source: From the publisher via Netgalley. This is my honest opinion.

synopsis

Sixteen year old Taylor Oh is cursed: if she is touched by the ghost of a murder victim then they pass a mark beneath her skin. She has three weeks to find their murderer and pass the mark to them – letting justice take place and sending them into the Darkness. And if she doesn’t make it in time? The Darkness will come for her…

She spends her life trying to avoid ghosts, make it through school where she’s bullied by popular Justin and his cronies, keep her one remaining friend, and persuade her father that this is real and that she’s not going crazy.

But then Justin is murdered and everything gets a whole lot worse. Justin doesn’t know who killed him, so there’s no obvious person for Taylor to go after. The clues she has lead her to the V Club, a vicious secret society at her school where no one is allowed to leave… and where Justin was dared to do the stunt which led to his death.

Can she find out who was responsible for his murder before the Darkness comes for her? Can she put aside her hatred for her former bully to truly help him?

And what happens if she starts to fall for him?

Review

The Weight of Souls started with a bang. It finished with a bang. And everything in in the middle was somewhere awesome between exhilarating and heart wrenching. In other words, by the end I couldn’t click the pages on my Kindle fast enough.

A strong book needs to present the reader with a strong and likeable hero/herione. And Taylor Oh is just that kind of heroine. She is so brave, in this book she goes to incredible lengths to protect others and maintains a great personality. If you pair Taylor up with a character like Justin, you just know something will either go terribly wrong or fantastically right, luckily in this book it was the latter. At the beginning of the book if you had told me I would like Justin, the chances are I would have laughed. But no, actually I thought he was pretty great. After completing the book I can’t completely say I sympathise with his reasons for tormenting Taylor but I definitely like him.

Never before this have I read a book with Egyptian history/mythology in it, so the concept of this book definitely intrigued me. The way Bryony Pearce has crafted it into a story makes it interesting and cool. The V Club was kind of eerie in a way, as were it’s suspicious members. Of course her descriptive writing and great characters help, but that was certainly something that stood out to me.

Unfortunately, this book was so, so close to getting a perfect rating from me but I just found it to temporarily slow for about 20% of the story where I was beginning to lost interest. It wasn’t major or something that greatly influenced my opinion. Fortunately, the story REALLY picked up from then on and as I said before, it was extremely difficult to tear my eyes away.

I loved this a lot and can’t wait to continue with the series. The ending was great, and if you have read some of my other reviews you may know that endings are something I think of to have great importance. This book definitely went above my expectations and I would recommend this to everyone!

four_stars and a half

Add The_Weight_of_Souls to Goodreads

author

Bryony Pearce (formerly McCarthy) lives with her husband and two children in a village on the edge of the Peak District. She completed an English Literature degree at Corpus Christi College Cambridge in 1998 and afterward worked in the business-to-business market research sector. She went freelance in 2004 so she could devote more time to writing. Bryony was a winner of the 2008 Undiscovered Voices competition with her MG novel Windrunner’s Daughter.

 

———-

 

arc_august

Day 3 of Arc August! I was hoping to be a little nore ahead.

Status:

Arcs finished: 2 = End Dayz and The Weight of Souls

Total pages read: 386

Just finished: The Weight of Souls by Bryony Pearce

Next up: Wavecrossed

2 thoughts on “The Weight of Souls by Bryony Pearce and Arc August Day 3#

  1. Vivien says:

    It is always irritating when you have to push through a slow part of a novel. Glad to hear it was worth it in the end. I may have to check this one out.

Leave a Reply

