Above by Leah Bobet

Above by Leah Bobet

Above  

Publication date: April 1st 2012

Publisher: Arthur A. Levine Books

Number of pages: 368

Series: N/A

Source: Borrowed (in no way was my opinon influenced)

 

Goodreads synopsis: Matthew has loved Ariel from the moment he found her in the tunnels, her bee’s wings falling away. They live in Safe, an underground refuge for those fleeing the city Above—like Whisper, who speaks to ghosts, and Jack Flash, who can shoot lightning from his fingers.

But one terrifying night, an old enemy invades Safe with an army of shadows, and only Matthew, Ariel, and a few friends escape Above. As Matthew unravels the mystery of Safe’s history and the shadows’ attack, he realizes he must find a way to remake his home—not just for himself, but for Ariel, who needs him more than ever before.

Review:

I liked this book but I didn’t LOVE it.

May I point out though, thank you so much Ms Bobet for giving us a stand alone dystopian! So, upon finding that out, you may be able to guess that I was a little excited. Okay, I was very excited. I have never read a stand alone dystopian/science fiction/fantasy/paranormal romance before so my expectations were high.

But sadly, the story never reached them, I am currently going through a reading slump – my past few books have received barely above three star ratings – which is very rare for me – and I just can’t get into whatever I am reading. I think the reason for me not being able to get into it was because I feel as if I had read enough about the book’s topic. I know that this book was probably one of the first of that sort of dystopian but I really have read that sort of thing before. It’s not Above’s fault. The other thing is that I just couldn’t visualise or connect with the characters. I didn’t like Matthew that much and I thought Ariel was too weak for my liking.

Oh well, that being said, I feel obligated to compliment the beautiful writing. Some moments were so beautiful and sad and everything was well described. I liked the way the author made some of the characters seem so innocent and others a little bit…not right?

I think dystopian lovers may love this book or join my opinion. I definitely liked this book enough to give a sequel a chance but as mentioned above (see what I did there – hee hee) it’s a stand alone!

3/5 stars

Add  Above Goodreads

Goodreads author bio:

Leah BobetI drink tea, wear feathers in my hair, and plant gardens in back alleys.

I also read a lot of books. Mmm, books.

Leave a Reply

