Extra Credit Epidemic by Nina Post

Extra Credit EpidemicReview: Extra Credit Epidemic by Nina Post

  •   Publication date: July 1st 2013
  •   Publisher: Curiosity Quills Press
  •   Series: N/A
  •   Source: review copy from the publisher via Netgalley. Thanks!

Goodreads synopsis: Taffy Snackerge is a high school senior who likes doing things her way. Gifted in science, she’d rather analyze infectious diseases and pick up a girl for the occasional fling than deal with her boring schoolwork or the high school social scene. When she notices a surprising number of cases of food poisoning in the area, she’s eager to dig in and find the cause.

To help with the investigation, Taffy approaches the only teacher she’s ever liked and respected, Van Brenner. As a former state
epidemiologist, Van is uniquely qualified to help Taffy get the data and insights that she needs. However, Van has one condition: Taffy needs to work with two other students on the case, and she doesn’t get to pick them.

As the cases start to multiply and the underfunded state health department continues to drag their feet, Taffy knows that it’s up to
her to find out what’s making so many people sick. But can she learn to work with her two teammates — including a beautiful,
hyper-organized girl who’s president of the Young Attachés Club and an emotional overeater who can’t go out in public without his lucha libre mask — while still retaining her autonomy? Can the team fend off a snooping assistant principal and step up when the adults let them down? And can they locate the source of the outbreak before it reaches epidemic proportions?

Review:

This was such a perfect read for me. I have just finished a fantasy book (very fantasy) and this book balanced it out perfectly. I enjoyed it so much that I surprised myself a little.

Some parts of Extra Credit Epidemic I found to be quite humorous and that is something that I don’t usually come across. I had been very interested in this book since I first came across it so I was very glad that it didn’t disappoint.

I loved the idea of this book, I don’t think I have ever read anything like it! It was really fun and the characters were great. We need more books like this. I really wanted to give this five stars but I just couldn’t because I had a couple of minor issues with Taffy. Sometimes she was cool but other times her attitude really bugged me. The book made up for it in terms of uniqueness and supporting characters.

Something that called out to me was the pacing of the book. It was pretty much perfect. Not so fast that I was like ‘hang on a minute, what just happened?’ or so slow that I lost any interest whatsoever in the story.

Usually when I finish a book I refuse to read a sneak peak of other books by the author. Spoilers *shudders*. But I could barely restrain myself from reading the excerpts of Nina Posts’ other books. Don’t worry, I managed. In other words, I will definitely be checking out this author’s other works.

I would recommend this to everyone. It was such a nice and easy, pretty light, fun read. If you read contemporary every day then this could probably squeeze in a little variety in terms of what the book is about. I’m pretty sure you won’t have come across many books like this with leading characters like Taffy.

4/5 stars.

Goodreads author bio:

Nina PostI’m a writer who lives in Seattle. I’m the author of EXTRA CREDIT EPIDEMIC, DANGER IN CAT WORLD, THE LAST CONDO BOARD OF THE APOCALYPSE, THE LAST DONUT SHOP OF THE APOCALYPSE, and ONE GHOST PER SERVING. Come see me on Twitter or my site or friend me on Goodreads.

Add to Goodreads

Leave a Reply

