The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong

The Summoning (Darkest Powers, #1)Goodreads synopsis: My name is Chloe Saunders and my life will never be the same again.

All I wanted was to make friends, meet boys, and keep on being ordinary. I don’t even know what that means anymore. It all started on the day that I saw my first ghost – and the ghost saw me.

Now there are ghosts everywhere and they won’t leave me alone. To top it all off, I somehow got myself locked up in Lyle House, a “special home” for troubled teens. Yet the home isn’t what it seems. Don’t tell anyone, but I think there might be more to my housemates than meets the eye. The question is, whose side are they on? it’s up to me to figure out the dangerous secrets behind Lyle House…before its skeletons come back to haunt me.

Review:

As an avid reader of paranormal romance, I can safely say we need more books like this. It was one of the reasons I love paranormal romance, addictive, engrossing, lovable characters and all around fantastic.

Once again I proved one of my greatest flaws. Assumption. I thought The Summoning was going to be about witches. Mind you I wasn’t too far off. This isn’t really a spoiler but skip this sentence if you’re scared. Chloe’s a NECROMANCER! I can’t believe how frequently I come across that word. So imagine how far down my jaw was hanging when I found out she can talk to ghosts. I’ll give you a hint, pretty low.

But Chloe is probably the most realistic character I have come across in a while. I can see me and her being great friends because of similarities we share. Plus her decisions are completely like ones teens her age would make. A blind an could foresee a love triangle blooming between Chloe, Derek and Simon. I am not completely sure who I want her to be with – I’m going to have to pick Derek though.

There are quite a few twists as well, particularly toward the ending. I can NOT wait to read the sequel but alas I am worried it might be a while until it comes into my eager hands. That’s the problem for all compulsive book buyers as myself.

I would definitely recommend this book. I loved it sooooo much and I really really really really want to read the sequel. Recommend this with all my heart to all teens and probably older as well. Awesome. Really awesome.

7/5 stars. Fine. Not possible? 5/5 stars.

About the author:

Kelley ArmstrongKelley Armstrong has been telling stories since before she could write. Her earliest written efforts were disastrous. If asked for a story about girls and dolls, hers would invariably feature undead girls and evil dolls, much to her teachers’ dismay. All efforts to make her produce “normal” stories failed.

Today, she continues to spin tales of ghosts and demons and werewolves, while safely locked away in her basement writing dungeon. She’s the author of the NYT-bestselling “Women of the Otherworld” paranormal suspense series and “Darkest Powers” young adult urban fantasy trilogy, as well as the Nadia Stafford crime series. Armstrong lives in southwestern Ontario with her husband, kids and far too many pets.

 Add to Goodreads
4 thoughts on “The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong

  1. I read this book YEARS ago, and I remember adoring it. I think I need to read it again, ASAP!

  2. Pabkins says:

    I really enjoyed this too! I am almost done with her second YA trilogy that just completed this year.

Leave a Reply

