Reviews of Fire Country and You Are Mine

Fire Country (The Country Saga, #1)Fire Country by David Estes

Goodreads synopsis: In a changed world where the sky bleeds red, winter is hotter than hell and full of sandstorms, and summer’s even hotter with raging fires that roam the desert-like country, the Heaters manage to survive, barely.

Due to toxic air, life expectancies are so low the only way the tribe can survive is by forcing women to procreate when they turn sixteen and every three years thereafter. It is their duty as Bearers.

Fifteen-year-old Siena is a Youngling, soon to be a Bearer, when she starts hearing rumors of another tribe of all women, called the Wild Ones. They are known to kidnap Youngling girls before the Call, the ceremony in which Bearers are given a husband with whom to bear children with.

As the desert sands run out on her life’s hourglass, Siena must uncover the truth about the Wild Ones while untangling the web of lies and deceit her father has masterfully spun.

Review:

I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I LOVE books with s dystopian feel to them so before reading I knew this was one of those books meant to be read.

I will admit it. I have not yet read The Moon Dwellers. I have been wanting to read something by David Estes for a long time and when I saw this one I immediately went for it. Especially after witnessing how amazing this book was, I will have to get to the Moon Dwellers. I was saving it but now I am afraid I can’t.

I loved the characters. It was great to read about a character like Siena (the protagonist) for a change. We do NOT read enough about characters like her these days. The world building was ah-may-zing. I had adapted to the characters’ way of speaking by the end of the first chapter and understood the world and setting very quickly. The setting was described really well and easy to picture.

I would definitely recommend this book. A seriously great read.

5/5 stars!

Goodreads author bio:

David EstesDavid Estes was born in El Paso, Texas but moved to Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania when he was very young. David grew up in Pittsburgh and then went to Penn State for college. Eventually he moved to Sydney, Australia where he met his wife. A reader all his life, he began writing novels for the children’s and YA markets in 2010, and started writing full time in June 2012. Now he travels the world writing with his wife, Adele. David’s a writer with OCD, a love of dancing and singing (but only when no one is looking or listening), a mad-skilled ping-pong player, and prefers writing at the swimming pool to writing at a table.

 

You Are Mine (Mine, #1)You Are Mine by Janeal Falor

Goodreads synopsis: Serena knows a few simple things. She will always be owned by a warlock. She will never have freedom. She will always do what her warlock wishes, regardless of how inane, frivolous, or cruel it is. And if she doesn’t follow the rules, she will be tarnished. Spelled to be bald, inked, and barren for the rest of her life—worth less than the shadow she casts.

Then her ownership is won by a barbarian from another country. With the uncertainty that comes from belonging to a new warlock, Serena questions if being tarnished is really worse than being owned by a barbarian, and tempts fate by breaking the rules. When he looks the other way instead of punishing her, she discovers a new world. The more she ventures into the forbidden, the more she learns of love and a freedom just out of reach. Serena longs for both. But in a society where women are only ever property, hoping for more could be deadly.

Review:

This was definitely not what I expected. In a good way. The warlock/witch thing is not a topic I have read much about and after reading this I think I am pretty much persuaded to start reading more magic books. It was AWEOME.

I am so glad I was give the opportunity to read this. I have had an experience with a book with witches before that I wasn’t too keen on and then of course there is the famous and yet amazing Harry Potter series. I was wondering which side of the scales the book would appear on. I can safely say it was closer to the Harry Potter side. But it was so much more than that.

The world building was fantastic. The way the world was designed and described was great because it was easy to imagine. The main character was also great. She wasn’t one of the stronger ones in the book but she is not weak is an annoying way either.

After finishing this book I immediately started thinking about wanting to read the sequel. You know you’ve found a good book when the second you finish you’re online looking for the sequel.

I would recommend this book to everyone. It is one of my favourite books this year, I liked it a lot more than a couple of very famous hyped up ones I have read. If you are like me and love great characters, cool worlds and pretty dresses, this is for you.

5/5 stars!

Goodreads author bio:

Janeal FalorJaneal Falor lives in Utah where she’s finally managed to live in the same house for more than five years without moving. In her spare time she reads books like they’re nuts covered in caramel and chocolate, cooks whatever strikes her fancy, and enjoys the outdoors. Her husband and three children try to keep up with her overactive imagination. Usually they settle for having dinner on the table, even if she’s still going on about the voices in her head.

 
 
Leave a Reply

