The Selection by Kiera Cass

The Selection (The Selection, #1)Goodreads summary: For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

Review:

W.O.W. The Selection is DEFINITELY one of my favourite books that I have read this year. Or last year. Or the year before. And probably the year before that as well. I really can’t remember…

I was pretty much oblivious to the world around me from the moment my eyes hit page one. In fact, I am pretty glad I picked this book to read during a read-a-thon because I do not finish books this fast in general. My taste in books must be impeccable at the moment since the last two books I read seem to have made it to the very-hard-to-get-to favourites shelf. The other book was Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare FYI. Yep, if you can not already tell, I obey the hype surrounding books.

To be perfectly honest, this is the first book in a while where I have found the characters to be as completely believable as in this book. I am one of a minor crowd who face difficulty in imagining characters in my head but to my complete and utter surprise, I found that I could actually visualise the protagonist America! Okay, some people probably don’t have as much picturing characters as I do. And that was the same for all the characters, I was utterly shocked to find out how realistic they were. Compared to Clockwork Princess this book is like a third of the size. Considering I got more attatched to the characters in The Selection than I did in the whopping great big book Clockwork Princess, I think that says something.

The plot and main idea of the story was fantastic. I have never really read any books like that. Most dystopians nowadays are all about ruined societies with stacks of rebellions, which (as much as it pains me to say it) gets a little on the boring side. Where as this was new and fresh and quite frankly, a lot more entertaining.

How many people can say that their interest in this book didn’t spark from the cover? Well mine didn’t! Bet you thought I was going to say it did. Well it certainly help though – it’s really pretty and in my opion has the prettiest spine on my shelf. As previously briefly mentioned, my interest was sparked by the tons of hype surrounding it.

I really, really, really, really wish that I had the sequel, The Elite, waiting to be read on my shelf. But alas, I don’t. If you are going to start this trilogy, do it NOW. If you’ve never heard of it before – now you have. I really and truly recommend it!

5/5 stars!!!!

One thought on “The Selection by Kiera Cass

  1. I must read this novel! Awesome review ^.^

Leave a Reply

