Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices, #3)Goodreads summary: A net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute. Mortmain plans to use his Infernal Devices, an army of pitiless automatons, to destroy the Shadowhunters. He needs only one last item to complete his plan: he needs Tessa Gray.

Charlotte Branwell, head of the London Institute, is desperate to find Mortmain before he strikes. But when Mortmain abducts Tessa, the boys who lay equal claim to her heart, Jem and Will, will do anything to save her. For though Tessa and Jem are now engaged, Will is as much in love with her as ever.

As those who love Tessa rally to rescue her from Mortmain’s clutches, Tessa realizes that the only person who can save her is herself. But can a single girl, even one who can command the power of angels, face down an entire army?

Danger and betrayal, secrets and enchantment, and the tangled threads of love and loss intertwine as the Shadowhunters are pushed to the very brink of destruction in the breathtaking conclusion to the Infernal Devices trilogy.

Review:

There are books when reviews have to be left for a minute before being written. Well. This is NOT one of those books. I literally read this minutes ago and I can’t wait to write this up!

Never ever ever ever ever have I read a book before that left me so happy with the ending. Don’t worry, as much as I’d love to, I’m not going to spoil anything. The entire way through the book, I could not pick who I preferred – Will or Jem? In fact, I still don’t know. I already thought the ending was perfect, but then I found the epilogue. May I say the best epilogue I have read. Although I did predict a couple of things, the rest of the story was fantastic. Amazing. Brilliant.

Tessa is my favourite protagonist. Not whiny nor bossy. Completely likeable and understandable. All the characters were great, well, the ones who were meant to be the pacing of this book is pretty much perfect because it’s not slow but it’s not extremely fast paced either. The cover is by far the prettiest in the trilogy. The girl on the front is identical to the way I visualise Tessa.

You know you’ve found a good book when it takes you a much shorter time to read as opposed to books that are around half it’s size. You also know when you’ve read a good book when you’re scared you are never going to like a book as much as you liked this one ever again. It took a looooong time for me to pluck up the courage to read this, it just sat on my shelf glaring at me, asking to be read. But I was was a little scared I wasn’t going to like it and that it wouldn’t live up to my gigantic expectations. I’m so glad I didn’t leave it any longer because it was well worth the read. If you have not yet read this, seriously – do!

If you haven’t read this trilogy yet, I can not stress how much you are missing out. However, it’s best to read with the Mortal Instruments series (also by Cassandra Clare. If you didn’t know, the Infernal Devices is a prequel trilogy to the Mortal Instruments). Make sure to read the books in publication order for the best effect because stuff is revealed along the way and it truly enhances the story. So it goes: City of Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass, (now onto the Infernal Devices) Clockwork Angel, City of Fallen Angels, Clockwork Prince, City of Lost Souls and Clockwork Princess. Soon to be succeeded by the last Mortal Instruments book!

The Infernal Devices is my favourite book series. There is literally no doubt that this trilogy will be read and read again by myself. Read this if you have not already – please!

5/5 stars!

Goodreads author bio:

Cassandra ClareCassandra Clare was born overseas and spent her early years traveling around the world with her family and several trunks of fantasy books. Cassandra worked for several years as an entertainment journalist for the Hollywood Reporter before turning her attention to fiction. She is the author of City of Bones, the first book in the Mortal Instruments trilogy and a New York Times bestseller. Cassandra lives with her fiance and their two cats in Massachusetts

 

Leave a Reply

