Asunder by Jodi Meadows

Asunder (Newsoul, #2)This book was provided to me so that I could guest reivew by Bookworm’s Avenue: http://bookwormsavenue.blogspot.com.au/

Goodreads blurb: DARKSOULS
Ana has always been the only one. Asunder. Apart. But after Templedark, when many residents of Heart were lost forever, some hold Ana responsible for the darksouls–and the newsouls who may be born in their place.

SHADOWS
Many are afraid of Ana’s presence, a constant reminder of unstoppable changes and the unknown. When sylph begin behaving differently toward her and people turn violent, Ana must learn to stand up not only for herself but for those who cannot stand up for themselves.

LOVE
Ana was told that nosouls can’t love. But newsouls? More than anything, she wants to live and love as an equal among the citizens of Heart, but even when Sam professes his deepest feelings, it seems impossible to overcome a lifetime of rejection. 

Review:

This book is extremely hard for me to review. I liked the first half of the book and loved the second. Put it this way, if the ending wasn’t as fantastic as it was, my rating would be a tad lower.

The first half of the book seemed to drag on a bit because the pacing was very slow. I think the problem was that I didn’t feel as though anything had really happened since I began reading the book until I got to the half way mark.

However, let me tell you how much Asunder changed from then on. Wow. There were so many twists and emotional moments – both good and bad. After that ending I really, really wish I had the third book but unfortunately I have to wait until it is released. I guess you could call it a cliffhanger. But not a super massive one. There were a few twists that I didn’t see coming and when they came they were big.

The characters didnt change much from Incarnate. Ana and Sam were the same especially but that wasn’t really a bad thing. There were some pretty quote-worthy lines in there as well. The cover of the books in this trilogy are so pretty as well.

Asunder was a fantastic second book. I can’t (and don’t want to) believe that there is only one more book left in the trilogy after this one.

If you loved Incarnate, then you should definitely read Asunder. If you have not yet begun this series, I highly suggest you give it a try. One of my favourite trilogies so far!

4.5/5 stars

2 thoughts on “Asunder by Jodi Meadows

  1. Annie says:

    I haven’t started this series, I’m hoping to wait until they’re all out. My memory’s not great so reading books ‘in a line’ is best for me! Great review, thanks for holding back on the spoilers!

Leave a Reply

