Every Day by David Levithan

Every DayThank you so much to Bookworm’s Avenue (http://bookwormsavenue.blogspot.com.au) me read this!

Goodreads description: Every day a different body. Every day a different life. Every day in love with the same girl.

There’s never any warning about where it will be or who it will be. A has made peace with that, even established guidelines by which to live: Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere.

It’s all fine until the morning that A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply. Because finally A has found someone he wants to be with—day in, day out, day after day.

Review:

This is probably one of my favourite books that I have read this year. It. Was. Amazing.

Confession time: I have to admit – I was extremely nervous in beginning this book. I had been so excited to receive it that I had been looking at reviews on it. Much to my horror, I had discovered lots of reviews with extremely low ratings.

But I took a deep breath and started it. From the very second I knew that I was going to love this book. Now, I am an easily distracted reader. But Every Day literally kept me reading. I easily could have read it in a single sitting, which for me is pretty much unheard of. This book got me out of a slight reading slump!

The characters were so normal and yet so different. Rhiannon is probably my favourite character, I felt so sorry for her and A. A is the protagonist of the story. A is neither girl or boy but yet he has a very masculine kind of thinking.

Every Day does not have normal chapters. Each chapter is a new day. The first chapter is Day 5594 and it carries on each day from there. Every day, A wakes up in a new body. It is so interesting to see each person who he wakes up as. Each new body had a whole lot of different problems to go with it.

There was so much emotion in this book, whether it be extreme sadness or happiness. The cover is very pretty as well.

I can’t recommend enough how much I insist you give this book a try. It takes a lot to be on my favourites list. Plus it seriously says something when I finish a book in a day – particularly on an e-reader, which for some reason takes me even longer to read on. Every Day has a little bit of a lot of different genres in it, so I am fairly sure it would hold appeal to most people.

Recommend with all my heart,
5/5 stars

 

Leave a Reply

